Neyla Pekarek

Debut solo album ‘Rattlesnake’

Released 18th January  

S-Curve Records/BMG


Rattlesnake pre-save link: HERE

Hear Train: HERE

Hear Train, Better Than Annie and extra track Miffed on HERE


‘Clever, high-camp, roots-pop drama’ 4* Mojo


Songwriter and cellist Neyla Pekarek – best known for her work with the acclaimed multi-platinum selling group The Lumineers – will release her debut album ‘Rattlesnake’ on January 18th on S-Curve Records/BMG. Written entirely by Pekarek, Rattlesnake is produced by Matt Ward (M.Ward, She & Him, Monsters of Folk) and is a collection of songs inspired by ‘Rattlesnake Kate’ – an infamous Colorado folk hero who killed 140 rattlesnakes to save her life and that of her 3 year old child during the rattlesnake migration in 1925.


Pekarek recently made the decision to leave The Lumineers after writing, recording, and touring the world with them for eight years. She explains: “They say when a snake sheds its skin, it is a sign of rebirth, transformation, and new beginnings. Eight years ago, I answered a Craigslist ad to be in a band. In those eight years, we were nominated for two Grammys, we met President Obama, and we saw just about every dark, dingy green room this big, beautiful planet has to offer. I am incredibly grateful for these experiences and opportunities, but it is time to shed my skin; it is time for a new adventure.”


Rattlesnake tracklist


  1. Train
  2. The Attack
  3. Better Than Annie
  4. Letters To The Colonel (ft. Brian Cronan)
  5. Whiskers
  6. Brownie: Ode To A Horse
  7. The Perfect Gown
  8. Arsenic
  9. Hold On Tight
  10. I’m A Scoundrel (ft. Brian Cronan)
  11. Swearing You Off
  12. Miffed
  13. Western Woman

Pekarek wrote the songs for her solo debut over the past few years while on tour and has road tested them at her US solo shows in New York, Los Angeles, Kansas City, and most recently while on tour with Andrew Bird. Born and raised in Denver, Neyla is a classically trained musician who began playing cello at age nine and earned a degree in music education before joining The Lumineers in 2010.  Since then she has recorded with the group on its two US platinum-certified albums, performed on Saturday Night Live, and toured with U2 and Tom Petty among other highlights.



 More info on Neyla Pekarek:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: