Reputed US site Metal Injection premieres the new Cerebrum track AT THIS LINK. This is tech death with soul and memorability which gets better with every listen. Here’s what the writer Greg Kennelty wrote about it –

“Greek death metal has always had a way of being unpredictably progressive, and Cerebrum is no different… If you’re a fan of the twisting, turning jazzy heaviness of bands like Atheist and late-era Death, then you’re really going to dig this one.”

BEST ALBUMS OF THE YEAR – Subterraneo Webzine (Spain)

ALBUM OF THE MONTH – Metal Utopia (US)


– “a gem-record in the history of the broader technical extreme metal!” – Rock Hard (Greece)

– “one of the best Technical Death Metal efforts released” – Metal Addicts (US)

– “an angular, neck-snapping death metal odyssey” – Decibel Magazine (US)

– “crushing” – Metal Injection (US)

– “out-of-this world musicianship” – Toilet ov Hell (US)

– “one of the best outputs in the field” – All Around Metal (Italy) 4/5

– “a refreshingly good Death Metal album” – Rock ‘N’ Load (UK) 9/10

– “top of the technical death metal pile” – GBHBL (UK) 8.5/10

– “an absolute devastator of a record” – Head-Banger Reviews (US)

– “a staggering monolith of technical death metal” – Metal Utopia (US)

– “masterful” – Dioses Del Metal (Spain)

– “a very good album” – French Metal (France) 17/20

– “thoroughly enjoyable” – Heavy Blog Is Heavy (US)

– “every second is convincing” – Rocking (Greece)

– “a visceral and complex ride” – Blessed Alter (UK)

– “damn near perfect” – Cadaver Garden (US)

– “an album that doesn’t disappoint at any turn” – The Killchain (UK)

– “ingenious” – Live Reviewer (Netherlands) 4.2/5

– “monstrous” – Toilet Ov Hell (US)

– “impressive intricacy and technical skill” – No Clean Singing (US)

– “one of the best outputs in the field” – All Around Metal (Italy) 4/5

– “solidly written” – Dead Rhetoric (US) 8/10

– “have stepped forward and grabbed hold of the death metal reigns” – The Dirty Room (US)

– “a refreshingly good Death Metal album” – Rock ‘N’ Load (UK) 9/10

– “solid slab of well-crafted death metal” – Wonderbox Metal (UK)

– “great album” – Musipedia of Metal (US) 8/10

– “Wonderfully played, written and produced!” – Nattskog (UK)

– “have put the bar too high” – Rock Overdose (Greece) 80/100

-”  the most interesting Greek death metal band ” – Least Worst Option (Belgium)

– “embraces the best of the technical legacy” – Subterreano (Spain)

-“forces you to respect each and every second ” – Rocking (Germany)

– “impressive and imaginative” – Musik Reviews (Germany) 9/15

– “efficiency at its best” – Ragherrie (Netherlands) 80/100

– “Something good for those who want something different” – RTMB (Mexico) 7.5/10

– “really remarkable technique” – Broken Tomb (Spain) 7.5/10

– “a mammoth cascade of riff after riff” – Distorted Sound Magazine (UK)

– “audacious” – Metal Italia (Italy)

– “definitely worth listening to” – Zephyr’s Odem (Germany)

CEREBRUM (Greece) – ‘Iridium’ (December 21st, 2018)

Genre – Death Metal
Release Date – December 21st, 2018
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records (India)
For fans of – (Mid-period) Death, Cynic, Atheist, Necrophagist, Archspire, Nile, Rings of Saturn

Greek technical death metal stalwarts release a mind-boggling album of intense and complex death metal music that doesn’t abandon soul and emotive values in favour of technicality. This is momentum-heavy, rhythmic and visceral death metal that remains challenging while not disrupting flow or memorability. This quality seems long forgotten in the race of being the fastest or most flamboyant, and that is the very reason this experienced band that once boasted of having a Nile member, George Kollias, in their ranks, stands out from the pack. With stunning artwork from Costin Chioreanu (At The Gates) and special mastering from Colin Marston (Gorguts), everything is ensured to provide maximum clarity despite prevailing (and essential) chaos, while retaining a human touch all along.

Band lineup – 
Mike Papadopoulos – Guitar
Jim Touras – Guitar, Vocals
Dekfalion Dimos – Drums
George Skalkos – Bass (Dead Congregation)

Artwork by Costin Chioreanu (At The GatesArch Enemy)
Mastering by Colin Marston (Gorguts)

Track listing – 
1. Time Reversal
2. A Face Unknown
3. Memory Hoax
4. Euphoric Control
5. Gods In Trance
6. Cognitive Dissonance
7. Astral Oblivion
8. Absorbed In Greed
9. Escape To Bliss

Official Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Official Site

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

Official Cerebrum Facebook

Official Transcending Obscurity YouTube Channel


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: