Napalm Death // Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism // Album Review

Having been at the forefront of everything that is Heavy about music for over 30 years, the Gods of Grind have seen and experienced pretty much everything possible, but the Birmingham legends continue to press forward head-on.

Having formed in 1981 and that classic album Scum hit the shelves in 1987, it has been nonstop for the releases by the band however with this release taking 5 years since the last studio album Easy Meat, it is time for the masters to return and unleash some abrasive aggression on the sonic landscape.

As soon as you press play, the intensity of the album begins to take effect and the brutality of the music really hits home, however for all the bluntness and extreme nature of this sound, you cannot help but get caught up in the riffs that underpin everything. The musicality of the album is as perfect as ever and the vocals are spewed as brilliantly as you would expect from a band that has not only been around for this long but also remained so relevant as ever.

The sounds of each track do differ some and all aspects of Napalm Death are experienced, including the Punk and Hardcore as the lyrics continue to relate to modern life and are as challenging and thought-provoking as ever as injustice and modern horrors continue and the band uses the platform that they had to raise awareness and ask those questions that need to be asked.

The album is jam-packed full of top drawer aggressive music and even when things slow down a little and may not have as much bite about them, there is no doubt that they retain their brutality, it is just directed from a slightly different angle and still hits the mark with maximum effect.

Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism shows why Napalm Death is one of the most important bands, not just in Punk or Grind, but in music. They have shown yet again that making music that matters and making it loud and passionately matters to people and this album will resonate with the audience in ways that other music doesn’t. From start to finish this is one of the stand-out albums of 2020 and as soon as it grabs you it doesn’t let go. In fact, its grip tightens and suddenly you find yourself completely taken over by the outstanding work created, Once more by this legendary band.

Ed Ford


Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism is released Friday 18th September 2050 via Century Media.



1. Fuck the Factoid (02:29) 

2. Backlash Just Because (02:56) 

3. That Curse of Being in Thrall (03:36) 

4. Contagion (04:05) 

5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre (02:28) 

6. Invigorating Clutch (04:05) 

7. Zero Gravitas Chamber (04:03) 

8. Fluxing of the Muscle (04:33) 

9. Amoral (03:05) 

10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism (02:55) 

11. Acting in Gouged Faith (03:37) 

12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen (04:36)




%d bloggers like this: