Misery Index // Complete Control // Album Review


Touching on their 20th-year Misery Index is one of the most consistent bands within the musical underground.

Formed in 2001 when leading member Jason Netherton left Dying Fetus, and in creating a heavily hardcore, punk & grindcore influenced death metal he spawned Misery Index.

Now with seven studio albums & the fellow up to 2019’s “Ritual Of Power” can Misery Index keep up their top-notch consistently?

“Administer the Dagger” opens up slowly, surely, lulling you as the band builds to a mighty crescendo. The band are unleashed & the fury spews from Mark Kloeppel’s mouth. The track is punishing & delivers on the promise that the band are continuing the sonic evolution from their last record.

Like always the human drum machine Adam Jarvis’s arms & legs are moving 1000bpm, all with perfectly timed hits but still feeling organic the way Adam is always represented when recording his drums. This opening track is a beast & I can’t wait to see what else the band has in store.

If you set a swarm of wasps on fire then that is what the opening of track two “The Eaters and the Eaten” would be best described.

A swirl of frantic noise is a theme throughout the track but it drives the track in this chaotic way that sets it apart from anything the band have done on the last few albums. A fantastic texture in collection with the vocal pattern Jason Netherton lays on this track is a belter.

Halfway through the album “Conspiracy of None” shows what I think has been the band’s best strength, lead guitarist Darin Morris.

Darin’s addition to the band has helped create some fantastic texturing for the band’s last few albums. Some of his lead work can be simple like on this track but what he does adds another dimension. This song is the standout track on the album.

A catchy chorus hook from both singers Jason & Mark makes this track something special.

Saving the band’s most pissed & aggressive track until last “Now Defied!” shows the band’s grindcore & hardcore in full swing. Only just hitting over the two-minute mark this track isn’t a swan song; it’s a full-on attack on the listener & the best way Misery Index could close the latest chapter in their discography.

“Complete Control” I can happily stay is as strong & might even succeed as the band’s last album “Rituals Of Power” which for me is a tall order as I love that album so dear and cement my opinion that Misery Index is true behemoths that can’t be stopped!

Joseph Mitchell

Complete Control is out via Century Media Records on 13th May 2022

Complete Control tracklisting:
1. Administer the Dagger
2. The Eaters and the Eaten
3. Complete Control
4. Necessary Suffering
5. Rites of Cruelty
6. Conspiracy of None
7. Infiltrators
8. Reciprocal Repulsion
9. Now Defied!
Next to the jewelcase CD, LP and digital versions of the album, Complete Control will also be available as limited deluxe 2CD box set (see mock image below), containing the studio album as a jewelcase CD, an additional 5-track bonus EP entitled Strategies of Manipulation in a slimline case CD, a black tote bag with artwork print, a button set with 2 buttons and a double-sided mini poster.
Strategies of Manipulation Bonus EP tracklisting:
1. Strategies of Manipulation
2. Supposed to Rot (Entombed Cover)
3. Infiltrators (Instrumental Version)
4. The Eaters and the Eaten (Demo Version)
5. Complete Control (Demo Version)

The album’s LP format will come on 180g vinyl and include a 4page LP-booklet as well as a poster in the A2 format. The available variants and limitations are listed below:
Black LP – Unlimited
Transp. Red LP – 1100x copies via all US outlets & Season Of Mist
Clear-Black Marbled LP – 500x copies via CM Distro and Evil Greed (European Bandshop)
Silver LP – 300x copies via EMP
White LP – 300x copies via Bandshops (IndieMerch / North America & Evil Greed / Europe)
The album’s pre-order starts today and can be found HERE.
MISERY INDEX “The Space Control” Tour:
w/ Origin, Wolf King
05.05.2022 Columbia, MO – The Blue Note (Misery Index & Origin only!) *
06.05.2022 Chicago, IL – Cobra Lounge
07.05.2022 Indianapolis, IN – Emerson Theater
08.05.2022 Detroit, MI – The Sanctuary
09.05.2022 Toronto, ON – Velvet Underground
10.05.2022 Ottawa, ON – The Brass Monkey *
11.05.2022 Montreal, QC – Foufounes Electriques
12.05.2022 Quebec City, QC – La Source de la Martinière
13.05.2022 Boston, MA – Sonia
14.05.2022 Brooklyn, NY – Saint Vitus Bar
15.05.2022 Clifton, NJ – Dingbatz
16.05.2022 Greensboro, NC – The Blind Tiger
17.05.2022 Atlanta, GA – Masquerade (Hell)
18.05.2022 Tampa, FL – Brass Mug
20.05.2022 Houston, TX – Acadia
21.05.2022 Dallas, TX – Amplified
22.05.2022 Austin, TX – Come and Take It Live
MISERY INDEX Festival Dates:
17.06.2022 – Oulu (Finland) – Metal Capital Festival
18.06.2022 – Fehrbellin (Germany) – Protzen Open Air *
19.06.2022 – Clisson (France) – Hellfest
30.07.2022 – Steenwijk (The Netherlands) – Stonehenge Festival
07.08.2022 – St Maurice de Gourdans (France) – Sylak Open Air *
10.08.2022 – Jaroměř (Czech Republic) – Brutal Assault Festival
12.08.2022 – Obermehler (Germany) – Party.San Festival Open Air
14.08.2022 – Kortrijk (Belgium) – Alcatraz Metal Festival
18.08.2022 – Dinkelsbühl (Germany) – Summer Breeze Open Air
Since the early 2000’s, MISERY INDEX have performed over 1400 concerts in 44 countries, sharing stages with the likes of Napalm Death, Cannibal Corpse, Fear Factory, Dying Fetus, Amon Amarth, Behemoth, Nile, The Black Dahlia Murder, Kataklysm, Decapitated and EyeHateGod and making them one of the most intense and merciless live-acts of our time. Look out for many more dates across the globe to be announced soon for MISERY INDEX.
MISERY INDEX is (From left to right on photo by Ryan Philipps) Adam Jarvis (drums), Mark Kloeppel (guitar and vocals), Darin Morris (lead guitar), and Jason Netherton (bass and  vocals).
MISERY INDEX Discography:
Retaliate – 2003
Dissent EP – 2004
Discordia – 2006
Traitors – 2008
Pulling Out the Nails (Compilation) – 2009
Heirs to Thievery – 2010
Live in Munich – 2013
The Killing Gods – 2014
Rituals of Power – 2019
Coffin Up the Nails (Compilation) – 2021
Complete Control – 2022
Follow Century Media