Mike Tramp // Trampthology // Album Review

If you are a fan of 80’s melodic rock then White Lion will undoubtedly be featured somewhere on your playlists or music collection. Following the demise of the band and a new project Freak of Nature lead singer, Mike Tramp has gone one to have a successful career as a solo artist, releasing no less than 12 LP’s since 1997, often charting in both his native Denmark and across the globe.

December 2020 sees him releasing “Trampthology” a 16 track retrospective which actually includes 4 new songs taking the total up to 20 (just in case you struggle with the math). 

What we get here is a whistle-stop ride through his solo career combining fan favourites along with some of Mike’s own choices, and yes the truly stunning “More To Life ” is on there.

We get a firm mix of the old, the aforementioned “More To Life ” comes from his Debut LP “Capricorn” , to the latest “The Road” from the 2020 LP “Second Time Around” and of course the 4 new songs:  “Ain’t Done Yet”,” Take Me Away”,” Every Time” and “I’ll Never Be Young Again”

Most of his solo stuff is a combination of Melodic Rock and Country fused together with his superlative talent in songwriting. The combination of old and new makes for an interesting listen and allows us to get inside the real artist. The songs definitely focus on the ballad to the mid-paced range that has characterised his live shows and recent output. However, that is not to say it’s not a great listen. 

This is definitely a release for his fans, but saying that if you have yet to experience Mike’s solo back catalogue its a fabulous place to start. 


Out today on both CD and 180gm Vinyl via Target DK


Review: Mark Ellis


Trampthology Tracklist:    

Give It All You Got4:08

  If I Live Tomorrow3:36

  More To Life Than This6:10

  The Road 4:45

  Ain’t Done Yet 4:55   

 Dead End Ride 4:06

  Maybe Tomorrow 6:04    

 Mr. Death 3:45

  Mother 4:00   

 Take Me Away 5:14   

 Cobblestone Street 4:25

  Trust In Yourself 5:07   

 New Day 3:32

  Bow And Obey 4:46

  Every Time 5:00

  Coming Home 6:29

  Lay Down My Life For You 3:31

  Better Off 3:50   

 The Way It Was Before 3:35

  I’ll Never Be Young Again 4:24





Official site

%d bloggers like this: