Mercyless // The Mother of All Plagues // Album Review

As strong as ever and in their 33rd year, Mercyless appear to have predicted the future when in 2018 they named this, their seventh album The Mother of All Plagues and now releasing it as Covid-19 is still a very real threat that is unlike anything the modern world has seen and the band are still as ruthless as they were in 1992 with the debut Abject Offerings.

As the four-piece explore the concept of religion and religious beliefs being similar to plagues that are spread through the world, do not expect something that is not going to ruffle some feathers or upset a few folks along the way, in fact, the disturbing nature of the release is evident as soon as you press play with an eerie and atmospheric intro titled ‘Infection’ before the sounds of Blackened Death Metal begin to grace your eardrums and start to consume your mind.

There is an Old School vibe to what Mercyless is presenting, with quick-paced guitars that are constantly slicing away as your flesh and the drums that batter you to a pulp matched with an abrasive vocal and deep and sinister bass line pulling everything together in a disturbing way.

The evil aspect of the album is clear for all to hear as we hear about Jesus and Satan in all of the bands Black Metal glory, which matched with that Old style pace and Thrash speed at times, creates a fantastically paced Speed Black Metal album that is one of the best I have heard in a while.

The 11 tracks span some 36 minutes and seem to fly by as the bile is spewed in disturbingly wonderful fashion and a way that will appeal to Black Metal fans along with the Death Metal contingent, plus those that fancy a dabble in the darker side of life. Trust me this is worth flirting with, but be prepared to be smitten and then obsessed with the side of music that many find questionable.

The Mother of All Plagues is a stunning piece of work that will be lapped up by the underground, however hopefully it will reach further afield and drag quite a few more people to the side of the raw and Blackened Death Metal arena.

Ed Ford


The Mother of All Plagues is released Friday 21st August 2020 via Xenokorp Records.


Track List

“The Mother of All Plagues”

  1. Infection
  2. Rival of the Nazarene
  3. Banished from Heaven
  4. Bring Me His Head
  5. Contagion
  6. Laqueum Diaboli
  7. Descending to Conquer
  8. Inherit the Kingdom of Horus
  9. The Mother of All Plagues
  10. All Souls Are Mine
  11. Litany of Supplication

“Sovereign Evil” bonus LP / CD

  1. The Third of the Storm [HELLHAMMER cover]
  2. In League with Satan [VENOM cover]
  3. The Exorcist [POSSESSED cover]
  4. Go to Hell [MOTÖRHEAD cover]




%d bloggers like this: