Me And That Man // New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.2 // Album Review


Just a year after the release of New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1, the Behemoth frontman has returned and this time Nergal has bought even more friends with him.

The second instalment features stunning guests such as Gary Holt (Slayer, Exodus), Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy), Randy Blythe (Lamb Of God), Myrkur, Devin Townsend, David Vincent, Doug Blair (W.A.S.P), Hank von Hell (Turbonegro) and Olve Abbath Eikemo (Immortal, Abbath) to join the Blackened Folk sound.

From the start, the darkness that is involved in this album is felt as the world turns to greyscale and the sounds of Folk, Blues and Americana take an unusually disturbing turn that makes you feel lik the songs have been created with sinister influences.

As the opening track ‘Black Hearse Cadillac’ ensures that the feeling is as intense as possible, the haunting sounds of chants welcome you before the vocal of Hank von Hell adds a different dimension, however that uncomfortable feeling really sets the feeling of impending doom on another level.

As the songs progress you will hear a different side of the guest performers as well as they delve into this unnerving world and when you hear Alissa White-Gluz on ‘Goodbye’ you won’t hear Arch Enemy. You will experience a more stripped-down version of her and it not only works amazingly but fits with the style of music almost naturally.

 The vocal of Myrkur is usually heard around the blackened folk arena ad unsurprising this sounds authentic and made for joining Me And That Man. If you want to hear how a perfect guest slot can work, listen to ‘Angel of Light.’

Whilst this album has a darker sound to it than both New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1 and Songs of Love and Death this certainly isn’t a turn that hasn’t worked. The feeling that something horrendous is happening lasts for the entire 45 minutes even in the more Rock n Roll tracks you can never get comfortable.

The fact that so many top-level guests want to be a part of this project just goes to show how impressive the Me And That Man brand is and the way that all the featured artists just slot in so easily has allowed for an authentically twisted take on traditional Folk and Blues.

Ed Ford


New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.2 will be released Friday, November 19th 2021 via Napalm Records.




  1. Black Hearse Cadillac (feat. Hank Von Hell and Anders Odden)
  2. Under The Spell (feat. Mary Goore)
  3. All Hope Has Gone (feat. Blaze Bayley, Gary Holt and Jeff Mantas Dunn)
  4. Witches Don’t Fall in Love (feat. Kristoffer Rygg)
  5. Losing My Blues (feat. Olve Abbath Eikemo, Frank The Baptist and Chris Holmes)
  6. Coldest Day in Hell (feat. Ralf Gyllenhammar and Douglas Blair)
  7. Year of the Snake (feat. David Vincent)
  8. Blues & Cocaine (feat. Michale Graves)
  9. Silver Halide Echoes (feat. Randy Blythe)
  10. Goodbye (feat. Alissa White Gluz and Devin Townsend)
  11. Angel of Light (feat. Myrkur)
  12. Got Your Tongue (feat. Chris Georgiadis)





%d bloggers like this: