LURK – Release Brand New Single ‘Bermuda’

LURK Release Brand New Single ‘Bermuda’The Bands Debut LP
Around The Sun Due Out 17th September
via Pure Noise Records

Preorders Available Now


Chicago’s LURK have releases their brand new single ‘Bermuda,’ which originally premiered on Rock Sound. Speaking about the new song Kevin Kiley said ‘While we were on tour prior to recording the album, some bad luck hit us in the middle of the desert. I ended up having to get surgery and we were holed up for a few days. I wanted to write a song about being in a strange, unfamiliar place and I think being on painkillers and wandering around the desert provided the perfect experience for that.’

Listen to Bermuda HERE or by clicking the image below.

The band have already announced their debut full-length, Around The Sun. Due out 17th September from Pure Noise Records, Around The Sun finds LURK coming into a sound that is truly their own. The album is a whirlwind blend of proto-punk eccentricity, new wave swagger, and hardcore ferocity that’s as as unique as it is instantly appealing.

LURK have previously shared the album’s first single “Crack A Smile” an unapologetically hook-heavy rager with a massive chorus that’s guaranteed to brighten your day. It’s LURK‘s freakout vision of a feel-good summer hit that doubles as a perfect introduction to Around The Sun‘s defiant embrace of life’s absurdity.

Preorder Around The Sun:

Made up of vocalist Kevin Kiley, drummer Pedro Unzueta, bassist Dan Durley, and guitarists Alex Rackow and Kevin Maida, LURK was formed out of a desire to tap into the infinite possibilities and unrestrained weirdness of punk rock. “We wanted to do something that was sort of ‘Ramones meets Devo meets B52s meets The Cramps,” explains Kiley. “A lot of those older bands could be pretty out-there, and punk can still be out-there if you want it to be.” Recorded by Andy Nelson (Jesus Piece, Harms Way, Weekend Nachos), Around The Sun blends the band’s influences into something distinctive and refreshingly uninhibited. And LURK‘s dedication to breaking the mold is palpable in their sound as well as Kiley’s lyrics. The passing of time is ever-present on the album and Kiley’s snarling hooks are often filled with urgency and the desire to make the most of our short window on the planet. And If Around The Sun is any indication, LURK are going to do just that.

LURK have upcoming shows in Chicago supporting Knocked Loose, Incendiary, Militarie Gun, and more. Stay tuned for more tour announcements soon.

Around The Sun track list:
1. Chromosome
2. Pressure Points
3. Crack A Smile
4. See-Thru
5. Bermuda
6. Sterilizer
7. Fear//Loathing
8. Top Secret
9. Strut
10. Around The Sun

Around The Sun is due out 17th September from Pure Noise Records.

Artwork High-res
%d bloggers like this: