Los Straitjackets guitarist Greg Townson releases instrumental version of “The Locomotion” (Little Eva)

Processed with VSCO with x3 preset
The Hi-Risers frontman, Los Straitjackets & Nick Lowe guitarist
Greg Townson Announces New Album
Off and Running!
Available To Pre-Order Now
New Single “The Locomotion”
Hi-Res Artwork Available Here
Rochester, NY – June 18, 2021 – Rochester native Greg Townson has announced his newest album, Off and Running!, available July 23 via Hi-Tide Recordings. With a varying cast of featured musicians including members of Los Straitjackets, NRBQ & the JD McPherson Band, the new album breathes new life into older classics while simultaneously introducing listeners to new favorites. Fans can pre-order and pre-save Off and Running! now at https://found.ee/offandrunning.
On his new album, Greg shares, “Off and Running!  is full of fun and unique arrangements of familiar and unfamiliar songs. All the musicians bring the dedication they have for their craft to their spirited performances.”
Greg Townson also shared a new single off of the upcoming album, “The Locomotion”. An instrumental take on the Little Eva hit of the same name, Greg’s version features drummer Pete Curry of Los Straitjackets. Fans can stream “The Locomotion” now at https://found.ee/gt-thelocomotion.
Off and Running! Track Listing
1. Off and Running!
2. Just One Look
3. When You Walk Into the Room
4. Hello Stranger
5. Able Mable
6. Little By Little
7. Action Line
8. The Locomotion
9. Goin’ Wild
10. Out in the Streets
11. What a Way to Die
12. Aztec view
13. Go Go Power
14. Oh Baby (We Gotta Good Thing Goin’)
Greg Townson has been making music most of his life, winning fans and making friends wherever he performs. Based in Rochester, New York, his music has brought him to stages all across the United States, Europe, Scandinavia and beyond. Over the years Greg has built up a loyal audience through his spirited performances and tireless touring.
Greg began playing guitar, writing songs, and singing at the age of 15. Over the years, Greg’s music absorbed a multitude of influences; from doo-wop to country, from soul to surf, from world music to standards, from blues to pop, often with first generation rock & roll in the forefront. In his early years, Greg’s broad, roots music leanings led to collaborations with everyone from rock and roll pioneer Bo Diddley, jazz legends Bill Doggett & Pee Wee Ellis, soul singers John Ellison and William Bell, to folk legend Michael Hurley and many others.
In 1998 he formed The Hi-Risers, a trio that shined a spotlight on his singing, guitar playing, production and songwriting talents. Since then, he has continued to record and tour prolifically with the band, to date issuing 9 records, all featuring Greg’s original songs. These recordings have received extensive radio airplay all over the world and have been used in a variety of settings, from NPR cues to commercials. The band’s most recent release is the 45 Smooth Operator b/w Hot Banana, which came out in 2020 on Hi-Tide Recordings.
In 2008 Greg decided to start playing solo, a move he describes as “the best one I’ve ever made. I only wonder what took me so long to do it!” Fans enjoy hearing Greg in this stripped-down setting, where his guitar work and understated, soulful voice works its way through his large repertoire of original songs and thoughtfully chosen covers. In 2012 he released his first solo record, On Your Side and followed it with two more records of original songs; My Friend The Night and Just Name It.
2010 brought yet another dimension to Greg’s work when he was asked to join the instrumental band Los Straitjackets. In 2012 he contributed songs to Jet Set, one of the strongest records in Los Straitjackets extensive catalog. He’s since contributed his guitar and songwriting talents to 5 more releases with the band. In 2015 Los Straitjackets teamed with legendary songwriter Nick Lowe. Together they’ve released several EP’s, toured the world and appeared on shows such as CBS This Morning and Late Night with Conan O’Brien.
As a continuation of his instrumental guitar work featured in Los Straitjackets, in 2017, Greg teamed up with Hi-Tide Recordings for the Travelin’ Guitar series of his own guitar based records. Travelin’ Guitar (2017) and More! Travelin’ Guitar are out now on the label, with Off and Running! forthcoming as the next in the series. As Greg says, “there couldn’t be a better home for these records. Each record is unique and I’m so thrilled with the response they are getting. “
During his long career, Greg has performed nonstop and has no plans of slowing down. “Traveling and playing for new people in new places is one of my favorite things,” he notes. “Right now I’m very excited for people to hear the new songs from Off And Running. Playing instrumentals from the new release and the Travelin’ Guitar records is a fabulous way of communicating with an audience. I think the audience can sense I’m having fun and they get caught up in the fun too.”
Hi-Res Photo Available Here
(PC: Will Cornfield)
Greg Townson on Social Media
Official Website: gregtownson.com/
%d bloggers like this: