Liz Cooper Releases New Song ‘Feeling Good’

photo credit: Cara Merendino



Acclaimed singer, songwriter and musician Liz Cooper has released her new song ‘Feeling Good’, the latest track to be taken from her forthcoming album Hot Sass out September 3rd via Thirty Tigers.

Of the song, Cooper shares, “‘Feeling Good’ is one of the first songs I wrote for this record. It’s the recognition of a deep and nagging existential sadness that’s nearly impossible to shake.”

Hot Sass has been Produced by Benny Yurco (Michael Nau, Grace Potter & the Nocturnals), mixed by Dan Molad (Lucius, Emily King) and recorded live at Little Jamaica Recordings in Burlington, Vermont.

The album marks multiple departures for Cooper—from her nine-year home of Nashville, from her band addendum of the Stampede, and from the genre-based expectations she’s accumulated throughout her career. With these twelve new songs, including the previously released tracks ‘Hot Sass’, ‘Slice of Life’ and ‘Getting Closer’, Cooper comes into her own—both musically and as a person—embracing a newfound sense of independence, honesty, maturity and creativity.

Reflecting on the album, Cooper shares, “It’s me learning about what kind of woman I am and it’s not pretty all the time… I’m still processing these songs. Still reflecting. And I think thats the thing—Hot Sass is just a stamp in time of what was happening in my life. I just want to continue making art that displays myself, the moments, and the people around me.”

In addition to Cooper and Yurco, Hot Sass also features Cooper’s long-time band mates and collaborators Joe Bisirri (bass), Ryan Usher (drums, percussion) and Michael Libramento (guitar, synthesizer).

The new record follows Cooper’s 2018 full-length debut album, Window Flowers, which was released to widespread critical acclaim. Of the album, NPR Music praised, “a gorgeously arranged and performed bouquet of psychedelia-tinged folk-rock,” while Rolling Stone hailed, “Cooper pushes her strand of folk rock deep into psychedelic territory by merging her idiosyncratic vocal style with swirling, droning guitar effects and lacerating solos that feel dusted with otherworldly magic,” and Paste declared, “If were lucky, we are going to hear a lot more artists in the future like Liz Cooper.”

Originally from Baltimore and now based in Brooklyn, Cooper has continued to tour consistently since her debut, performing alongside artists such as Dr. Dog, Shakey Graves, Bermuda Triangle, Lord Huron and Phosphorescent as well as special festival performances at Austin City Limits, Newport Folk Festival, BottleRock Music Festival, Lockn’ and more. In support of Hot Sass, Cooper will be completing an extensive 39-date tour of the US full dates and tickets can be found here.

1. Slice of Life
2. Heart Shaped Candy
3. Motorcycle
4. Hot Sass
5. Feeling Good
6. Lucky Charm
7. Getting Closer
8. Shoot The Moon
9. Fragile Lips
10. Je T’aime
11. My Oh My
12. Smoke Break

%d bloggers like this: