Nationally Acclaimed Soulful Rocker from The Voice

Stream Album Here
“This is one black girl who definitely knows how to rock and
it shows all over this track.”
– SoulBounce

(New York, NY) Acclaimed New York City soul-rocker, Lisa Ramey has released her anticipated debut full-length album, Surrender. The album is a follow-up to Ramey’s debut EP, I Am… Lisa Ramey, where she first enticed listeners with her unique funk-meets-R&B sound in 2018. On Surrender, Ramey gets candid about life, love and music. This album comes on the heels of her tremendous success on The Voice in 2019, where she garnered rave reviews from national music fans and media alike. Entertainment Weekly called her “a force to be reckoned with,” while Newsweek lauded her as “a natural performer.” 

Ramey’s wrote all 13 tracks on her Surrender album over a four-year period. She wrote each song from a different aspect of her life. Her song “Creeping Along” shows her fear of rodents also known as musophobia. Her single off the album, “You Ain’t My Friend” – a  gritty, rock and roll song – displays the artist’s experiences with the perils of friendships. Each track takes you on a different journey through Lisa Ramey’s powerful lyrics and vocals. 

During these chaotic times, Ramey partnered up with a leading streaming platform to host her virtual album release event on March 27th. During the event, Ramey along with Broadway star Tim Young, who opened for her. She also provided links for viewers to donate to two charities, The Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and MusiCares. With the aid of 2,400 viewers, Ramey was able to raise over $3,600.00 for both causes.

Be sure to check out Surrender, the debut full-length album by bold soul-rocker Lisa Ramey, available on all streaming platforms!

Stream Album Now
More About Lisa Ramey

Ramey has been performing since the age of nine. While growing up in St. Louis, Ramey performed 11 consecutive seasons at The Muny, America’s oldest and largest outdoor theater. Since moving to New York City, Ramey fronted a wildly popular funk-soul band (SugarBad), has graced Broadway stages, toured the world with Cirque du Soleil as the Soul Singer in KOOZA, and had her television debut singing backup on HBO’s original series, VINYL.

Ramey first caught national attention when she auditioned for Season 16 of NBC’s The Voice. On its season premiere, Lisa joined EGOT and multi-platinum recording artist John Legend’s team and advanced to the Playoff Rounds (Top 24, Legend’s top 6) of the show. Her rendition of “The Weight” by The Band debuted at #64 on Apple Music’s R&B Charts where she trended to a top 25 song within the first 24 hours of its release. Due to her popularity on the show, she took the stage on the finale to sing in an all-female “super group” of fan favorites from Season 16. In July of 2019, NBC’s Songland requested Ramey cover “Hurt Me”, originally performed by Meghan Trainor.

In May 2019, Lisa was asked by NBC to be the host of The Voice’s monthly NYC Open Mic at Rockwood Music Hall. Since her time on the series, Lisa was named one of Soho House New York’s featured recording artists, playing a sold out crowd in the famed Vinyl Room; she headlined the DO|AC’s Atlantic City Boardwalk Summer Series, sold out an 1000+ capacity amphitheater for a Canadian charity concert, was a guest to some of NYFW’s S/S ’19 high profile events, sang at the iconic Joe’s Pub at The Public Theater, in December, shared a stage with Ms. Lauryn Hill in The Mothers Ball, at NYC’s The Javits Center sponsored by iHeartRadio, and rang in 2020 headlining for The McKittrick Hotel.

Surrender – Track Listing

  1. Didn’t You

  2. Creeping Along

  3. Open Wide

  4. I’m Alright

  5. Hymn

  6. Clear Your Mind

  7. Dangerous

  8. Faded

  9. You Ain’t My Friend

  10. Left For Dead

  11. Other Side

  12. KMB

  13. Raining

Keep up with Lisa Ramey!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: