Larkin Poe // Kindred Spirits // Album Review

Sister act Larkin Poe returns once again in 2020 with yet another stellar collection of songs in the form of their first ever covers album, which is ironic as they rose to fame globally via their YouTube antics with various acoustic covers of their favorite tracks in a very personal and one to one feel with a somewhat ad-hock style. 

These two ladies took my breath away the first time I caught them doing their thang, and I have been a great admirer eve since, Rebecca’s voice is just sublime and has that instantly recognizable quality to it right from the off, her close musical relationship with sister Megan is the glue in which Larkin Poe is founded and their chemistry is mind-blowing, totally in sync, musically, vocally and spiritually these two never fail to impress. 

Their latest offering is no different, a collection of hand-picked tunes that resonate with the ladies and will no doubt with their army of fans too. The tracks cover a broad spectrum of artists from Lenny Kravitz to Neill Young and the late great Robert Johnson, but it’s not all about the classic’s as the girls bring to right up to date with a stylish take on Post Malone’s ‘Take What You Want”. The girls make each track their very own with their signature style weaving through each and every track, haunting takes on well-established numbers that force you to have a double-take on what you are hearing. 

From start to finish here you will be consumed by the magic within its walls and happily give in to its spell weaving quality as you find yourself mesmerized by the beauty packed within this eleven-track wonder of wonders! All jesting aside, this really is a beautiful piece of work and one that the ladies should be immensely proud of, their off the cuff YouTube videos may be a snapshot in time but these recordings are their legacy and a footprint of which they will be remembered by. 

I wait with bated breath to see what and where these ladies will go from here, for me they can do no wrong and are a perfect example of the cream coming to the top. In a world full of talented musicians and hard grafting musicians, true talent will always shine through. If for any reason you have yet to dip your toes in the pool of Larkin Poe, Kindred Spirits is as good as any to understand what’s going on here. 


Kindred Spirits is out Friday, Nov 20th via Tricki-Woo Records. 





  1. Hellhound On My Trail (Robert Johnson)
  2. Fly Away (Lenny Kravitz)
  3. Rockin’ In The Free World (Neil Young)
  4. (You’re The) Devil In Disguise (Elvis Presley)
  5. In The Air Tonight (Phil Collins)
  6. Nights In White Satin (The Moody Blues)
  7. Who Do You Love (Bo Diddley)
  8. Take What You Want (Post Malone)
  9. Ramblin’ Man (The Allman Brothers)
  10. Bell Bottom Blues (Derek & The Dominoes)
  11. Crocodile Rock (Elton John)





%d bloggers like this: