Kvelertak // Splid // Album Review

This is the dawn of a new era of Kvelertak as the first release since Erland Hjelvik left the band and has been replaced by Ivar Nikolaisen in the position as vocalist and there are big vocal cords to fill as the 2010 debut Kvelertak grabbed a huge amount of attention before the follow-up album Meir smashed onto the scene and reached number 2 on the Rolling Stone’s 20 Best Metal Albums of 2013 whilst 2016 saw the release of Nattesferd which continued the bands meteoric rise of the band which saw them receive a plethora of awards and support huge acts such as Metallica, Slayer, Anthrax, Ghost and Gojira.

With the unique blend of Blackened Punk ‘n’ Roll, Kvelertak has created their own sound that instantaneously recognizable and that sound continues with the new frontman, Nikolaisen at the helm. 

As soon as the opening notes to ‘Rogaland’ can be heard, it is clear that Kvelertak is still here and Nikolaisen slots in perfectly as the riffs roll effortlessly and get the toes tapping with the groove and Rock n Roll flavour that we know and love.

The second track ‘Crack of Doom’ features Troy Sanders from Mastodon which gives the band an extra layer of awesomeness, not that they need it as the chunky riffs continue to caress your ear lobes and provide a huge amount of awesomeness for you to digest.

The amount of groove that flows through the entire album is something that is rarely experienced and creates the feel of a party album, full of anthems but they still retain that edge of Punk and the pace and occasional tone that is generally heard in a more blackened setting.

‘Discord’ is a catchy sing-along style track that rocks your socks off and still has that incredibly unique sound that has helped make the band into what they are now. The high energy is captured brilliantly in the recording of the album and passed into your body, making you move along with the music, not that you will need any encouragement.

Splid is a fantastic album and is bound to continue the amazing run that Kvelertak has been on. Whilst it should not come down to are the band better now or before the line-up change, ultimately that is exactly what people will do. My opinion is Kvelertak is as awesome now as they were then, and just like the band did with every other album since their debut, Splid continues their evolution, so press play and be prepared to be blown away.

Ed Ford

Splid is released February 14th via Rise Records.


In March 2020, KVELERTAK will return to the UK for headline shows in Manchester, Bristol, and London, bringing with them special guests Planet Of Zeus and Blood Command. Tickets are on sale now from all good box offices and from www.kvelertak.com.

20/03 – MANCHESTER – Academy 2
21/03 – BRISTOL – SWX Bristol
22/03 – LONDON – Electric Brixton


Track List

  1. Rogaland
  2. Crack Of Doom (featuring Troy Sanders of Mastodon)
  3. Necrosoft
  4. Discord
  5. Bråtebrann
  6. Uglas Hegemoni
  7. Fanden Ta Dette hull!
  8. Tevling
  9. Stevnemøte Med Satan
  10. Delirium Tremens
  11. Ved Bredden Av Nihil




%d bloggers like this: