Kentucky Rockers “Mojo Thunder” Release “Holy Ghost” Single Ahead of “The Infinite Hope” Album

High-flying Kentucky rock’n’roll band Mojo Thunder release their sophomore album The Infinite Hope on the Friday 16 August. The first single “Holy Ghost” debuts today.

Stream the song HERE. Watch the official “Holy Ghost” music video HERE.

Sign up to Mojo Thunder’s mailing list HERE to receive news of the album pre-order.

Written by guitarist Bryson Willoughby, the scorching barnburner tells the tale of a preacher who uses his power and position in his community to sow discord and create chaos.

Of “Holy Ghost”, Willoughby says, “Small town preachers are a community staple. This one inflates his sense of being by claiming a moral authority made permissible by a relationship with God. Scared of change and losing privilege, he makes an enemy out of progress, which manifests itself in a murder for hire.”

Produced by Duane Lundy (Ringo Starr, Justin Wells, Sturgill Simpson) at the Lexington Recording Co., The Infinite Hope sees Mojo Thunder crafting their most diverse soundscapes, not only leaning into the nostalgic rock foundation of their 2021 debut album, Hymns from The Electric Church, but their more modern influences like Kings of Leon, My Morning Jacket and Radiohead as well.

“We all shared the desire to do things as a unit, to perform, to mine for as many dynamics and emotion in their performances, but still putting the priority on the songs,” says Lundy about the recording process. “The lyrics are thoughtful and meaningful, something that I feel like is often slighted in current rock material, but my main takeaway was the quality of people they are. Their invitation meant a great deal to me, and I feel like I have four new family members.”

Additionally, Willoughby shares, “We’re finding our footing musically where we don’t have to rely on old tropes so much. With this record we wanted to showcase all of our influences instead of relegating ourselves into one particular place.”

On the album’s 10 tracks the band, comprised of Bryson Willoughby (guitar), Sean Sullivan (vocals), Zac Shoopman (drums), and Andrew Brockman (bass), explores everything from the dark side of activism (“Holy Ghost”) and civil rights (“Memphis”) to the healing power of a live concert experience (“Greetings from Western Art”) and the feeling of not being enough (“Step by Step”).

A definitive journey of growth, the project sees the band as their most authentic selves yet as they push themselves — and their listeners — to be the best versions of themselves.

“Despite all the lows and bad experiences, people are tenacious, and we press ourselves to reach our highest ideals,” says Willoughby. “Despite what has happened, is happening or will happen, there’s always some reason to keep pushing — like an infinite hope — to get you through.”

In support of the record the band will perform a select run of Kentucky concerts leading up to its release prior to embarking on a month-long European tour that includes stops in Germany, France, Spain and more. Full details can be found at

In addition to the band’s core line-up, The Infinite Hope also features contributions from Seth Murphy (cello on “The Sun Still Rises” and “Grace”), Lee Carroll (organ on “Memphis” and “Greetings From Western Art”), and Duane Lundy (synthesizers and keyboards).

Founded as an edgy, hard rock band in 2018, Mojo Thunder have built up a rabid fanbase in the time since with its enthralling live shows and down-to-earth humility. During that time the band has become one of the most entertaining new acts to emerge from Kentucky — a state otherwise known for its bluegrass and country music — opening for the likes of All Them Witches, Justin Wells and Tyler Childers.

The Infinite Hope – Track Listing
The Sun Still Rises (4:28)
Coming Back to You (4:46)
Step by Step (3:25)
Let it Fall (4:00)
Holy Ghost (3:09)
Memphis (5:04)
Caroline (4:45)
Gettin’ On a Binge (4:17)
Grace (4:44)
Greetings from Western Art (7:37)Produced by Duane Lundy with Mojo Thunder
Mixed by Duane Lundy
Album art by Chancit Jeffords

Mojo Thunder – 2024 European Tour

Sept. 20 – Dortmund, DE – Blue Notez e.V.
Sept. 21 – Besançon, FR – Bar de l’U
Sept. 22 – Chambéry, FR – Brin de Zinc
Sept. 25 – Barcelona, ESP – Razz 3
Sept. 26 – Castelló De La Plana, ESP – Because
Sept. 27 – Girona, ESP – Mirorock Festival
Sept. 28 – Orihuela, ESP – Sala La Gramola
Sept. 29 – Jurez De La Frontera, ESP – La guarida del Angel
Oct. 1 – Ourense, ESP – Café Auriense
Oct. 2 – León, ESP – Babylon
Oct. 3 – La Coruña, ESP – Mardi Gras
Oct. 4 – Avilés, ESP – La Factoria Cultural
Oct. 6 – Vitoria-Gasteiz, ESP – Urban Rock Concept
Oct. 10 – Heilbronn, DE – WaldHaus eV Heilbronn
Oct. 11 – Kufstein, AUT – Kufa
Oct. 12 – Singwitz, DE – Kesselhaus
Oct. 13 – Burglengenfeld, DE – VAZ
Oct. 15 – Bratislava, SVK – Muzeum Obchodu
Oct. 18 – Altlandsberg, DE – Buchholz Saloon
Oct. 19 – Joldelund, DE – Gerd’s Juke Joint
Oct. 22 – Bremen, DE – Meisenfrei
Oct. 23 – Hamburg, DE – Cowboy und Indianers
Oct. 24 – Hamburg, DE – Club Am Donnerstag
Oct. 25 – Krefeld, DE – Kulturrampe
Oct. 27 – Weert, NL – De Bosuil

Mojo Thunder – Biography

Mojo Thunder is an American rock band from Kentucky featuring Bryson Willoughby (lead guitar) Sean Sullivan (vocals, guitar), Andrew Brockman (bass), and Zac Shoopman (drums).

The boys are seated under the shade of a family tree that bears its fruit on the branches of Kings of Leon, and the Black Crowes; deeply rooted in an unwavering respect for Lynyrd Skynyrd and Led Zeppelin.

Established in 2018, Mojo Thunder hit the road and quickly gained attention of live music fans with an electrifying show praised for its high energy, heavy grooves, improvised jams, and a familiar, yet new sound. Early studio efforts include two singles, and an EP titled Loose Lips that was originally released June 9, 2019.

The debut album Hymns from the Electric Church was released on May 24, 2021. Ken McIntyre of Classic Rock Magazine described it as, “a stunner; a sun-dappled potpourri of everything good and true about American rock’n’roll, from crunching hard rock to soulful blues, from breezy cosmic Americana to head-bopping summertime arena-rock anthems.” It received a 9/10 review.

March 7, 2023, saw the surprise release of, Alive, with Friends showcasing the explementary qualities of the band’s live performance, featuring guest appearances and extended versions of songs spanning from the first single through Hymns from the Electric Church. Recorded over two nights in Lexington and Louisville, Kentucky, fans were invited to be a part of the band’s hometown audience. Supplemental videos from each performance, including material not featured on the album, were released on the band’s YouTube channel.

The sophomore album, The Infinite Hope will be released August 16, 2024. Fans of rock music will be pleased to see a return to some familiar sounds while also ambitiously reaching for new heights. The southern American working-class ethos is put on full display with the newest release which makes it evidently clear that this is a band that will continue to grow and evolve.

Genre: Modern Rock, Alternative Rock, Southern Rock.

Band portrait by Ali Ann Photography