JOEL HOEKSTRA’S 13 : ‘Running Games’ – new album by electrifying solo project features an all-star cast / out 12.02.21


new album
out 12.02.21

pre-order link

includes the single 

Best known to rock fans as a current guitarist for Whitesnake and Trans-Siberian Orchestra, as well as his work with Night Ranger and the Broadway show Rock Of Ages, US musician Joel Hoekstra returns with a second album from his electrifying solo project, Joel Hoekstra’s 13.

Joined by an all-star cast of musicians that include Russell Allen (vocals), Tony Franklin (bass), Vinny Appice (drums), Derek Sherinian (keyboards) and Jeff Scott Soto (backing vocals), ‘Running Games’ sees Hoekstra and company pick up where the debut release, ‘Dying To Live’, left off. Long hailed for his fiery, tasteful guitar work, Hoekstra’s playing here raises the bar to a new level, while once again he also handles the bulk of the creative process, crafting his vision for this powerful hard rock gem by overseeing songwriting, arranging and production. Adding in masterful mixing work from Chris Collier, the result is 70’s/’80’s inspired classic hard rock with 2020 muscle.

Says Hoekstra: “Years ago, I released three solo albums of mainly instrumental guitar music. With Joel Hoekstra’s 13, I am working on something that showcases my production, writing and playing in the genre that I am best known for, which is melodic hard rock.” As with his 13 debut, the new record can be described as DIO’ish at it’s heaviest, although it is also influenced by the blues-based sound of Whitesnake as well as melodic bands such as Foreigner and Journey. As for its first single, ‘Hard To Say Goodbye’, Hoekstra adds: “it represents the more melodic sound of the album, but fans can also look forward to some aggressive tracks.”

1  Finish Line
2  I’m Gonna Lose It
3  Hard To Say Goodbye
4  How Do You
5  Heart Attack
6  Fantasy
7  Lonely Days
8  Reach The Sky
9  Cried Enough For You
10  Take What’s Mine
11  Running Games
12  Lay Down Your Love (bonus track – digital)

Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake, Trans-Siberian Orchestra) – guitars
Russell Allen (Symphony X, Adrenaline Mob) – lead vocals, backing vocals
Vinny Appice (ex-Black Sabbath, DIO) – drums
Tony Franklin (ex-The Firm, Blue Murder) – bass
Derek Sherinian (Sons Of Apollo, Dream Theater, Black Country Communion) – keyboards
Jeff Scott Soto (Sons Of Apollo, Trans-Siberian Orchestra) – backing vocals
special guests
Lenny Castro (TOTO) – percussion
Chloe Lowery (Trans-Siberian Orchestra) – backing vocals
Dave Eggar (Evanescence, Coldplay) – cello
Katie Kresek (Adele, Five For Fighting) – violin, viola

Originally founded in Naples, Italy in 1996 by Serafino Perugino and his father Fernando as a distribution company, Frontiers has developed into one of the premiere independent rock labels in the world. Synonymous with quality music across a broad spectrum of rock and metal genres, the company works with multiple genre heavyweights and fan favourites. However, in addition to providing an outlet for classic and established acts, it has also become home to a wealth of young, up and coming talent whose musical prowess, when combined with the label’s savvy and forward thinking A&R and marketing approach, will be developed into the future of rock and metal. With a deep commitment to and passion for THE MUSIC and the artists who create it, plus massive global distribution, sales, marketing and promotion channels, Frontiers is the leading home for both established and emerging rock and metal artists.
Head Office: Naples, IT | U.S. Office: Nashville, TN
Subscribe to be alerted when new videos are added:
Follow the ‘Newest From Frontiers’ playlist on Spotify:

%d bloggers like this: