Announces Solo Album
10 More Rock Super Hits 

First Single “Jendy!” Out Now
Pre-order The Album HERE
JEFF WHALEN, the frontman and mastermind behind celebrated L.A. power pop band Tsar, announces details of his first-ever solo album 10 MORE ROCK SUPER HITS, to be released in early 2019. The album’s first single “Jendy!” is available now and you can listen to the track here.

10 More Rock Super Hits is a crunch-tastic, chorus-driven confection of everything that sparkles and pops – a bubbleglam masterpiece and a distillation of the best elements of UK glitter, new wave, sunshine pop, and ’70s arena rock brilliantly produced by Linus Of Hollywood (Nerf Herder, Bowling For Soup, etc). Kurt Baker of The Kurt Baker Combo says,”Jeff is on top of the Pop Rock N Roll game here. Dig it!”

10 More Rock Super Hits is more or less like a follow-up to Tsar’s first two albums (Tsar and Band-Girls-Money) with maybe a slightly more Californian, top-down, PCH, airy, summer beach vibe.

After Tsar, Jeff immersed himself into the pop rock world by continuing to write, listen, talk about, think about, cry about, and throw-up-in-the-back-of-the-cab about music.  He says, “Pop music is always there for you.  And there’s always more of it.  Whenever you think, ‘well, that’s it… that’s all the bands in that genre’, there’s always more.”

About his first solo single “Jendy!,”  he says enigmatically, “It’s inspired by this girl I like… but it’s also a bit about America. The song is really about how pop music and love make us feel a certain way when we need them to.  We put a tremendous amount of pressure on them to mean something when we need them to mean something. And they never let us down.”

Tsar (1998-2012) was a hybrid of glam rock, power pop, garage rock, punk rock, arena rock, and bubblegum music.  In 2000, they released their self-titled debut LP on Hollywood Records produced by Grammy Producer of the Year Rob Cavallo (Green Day, Goo Goo Dolls) and mixed by Chris Lord-Alge (U2, Bruce Springsteen, Madonna).  The album garnered critical acclaim and James Gunn (director of both Guardians Of The Galaxy films) used the album’s opening track, “Calling All Destroyers,” in his 2010 action film Super.  Tsar toured with the New York Dolls, Social Distortion, Eve 6, Duran Duran, and Juliette and the Licks.  The band performed on the Late Late Show with Craig Kilbourn and  The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson as well as being placed on TV shows such as Veronica Mars and NCIS and in the films In the Land of Women and American Psycho 2.
10 More Rock Super Hits:

1. Goofing Around
2. Jendy!
3. Ground Game For Worm
4. Kung Fu Criminal
5. Man Of Devotion
6. The Alien Lanes
7. Shanghai Surprise
8. Don’t Give It Up
9. Soylent Blue
10. 10 More Rock Super Hits

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: