NOUS II project of all-star experimentalists shares new single from upcoming album
Christopher Bono w/ Greg Fox (ex-Liturgy), Thor Harris (Swans), Shahzad Ismally (Yoko Ono, Laurie Anderson), ACME strings, yMusic members
Hear & share “Look Again At That Dot” (Bandcamp) (Treble)
Watch video from recording session HERE
“A half-airy, half-aggressive interdisciplinary happening organized by the young and enterprising composer Christopher Bono, who brought together a wise, postcategory, electric and acoustic 12-person crew.”  — New York Times
“You couldn’t pigeonhole it into one genre if you tried — it goes from eerie David Lynchian soundscapes to Eastern melodies to avant-garde jazz drum freakouts to a million other places, all while remaining strangely accessible.” — Brooklyn Vegan
“(Sometimes) it is clear from the get-go that you’re handling something potent, that the music you’re about to hear is going to leap out of the digital format and grab you by heart… A captivating and moving piece of music.” — Heavy Blog Is Heavy
New York experimental music project NOUS, led by producer and composer Christopher Bono, shares a new track from NOUS II, the followup to their 2018 eponymous debut album. The group shares album opener “Look Again At That Dot” via Treble HERE. (Direct YouTube, Spotify, Bandcamp.)
Heavy Blog Is Heavyrecently launched “Here In my Chest It Is What It Is” HEREPopMatters previously shared lead track “Nighten Gale” HERE.
Nous is an experimental music project with a fluctuating group of artists exploring ritual and spontaneity within music. NOUS II features the same lineup as the debut: multi-instrumentalists Christopher Bono (keyboards/electronics/percussion/vocals), Greg Fox(drums/percussion/electronics)Thor Harris (drums/percussion), Shahzad Ismaily(electronics/guitar/bass) and Grey Mcmurray (guitar), with special guests.
On this album, NOUS founder and curator Christopher Bono takes the project and the musicians on a deeper dive into the post-rock, and ambient genres. The project maintains the spirit of spontaneity, but the musical experiments are conducted within a framework of more melodic exploration alongside cellular motif and groove oriented experiments.
“Nighten Gale” is the first single release from the new album. This piano and strings driven piece was presented in the studio to the the talented group of experimental musicians as a basic lead sheet featuring a simple progression and no dynamic suggestions. The 9 musicians received this minimalist input and together recorded a sweeping new-classical sonic Ark that journeys through contrasting peaks of heavy and gentle dramatic moments.
Woodstock, NY label Our Silent Canvas is preparing to release the second of 3 albums culled from sessions the group recorded in an intensive 7-day immersion at legendary Dreamland Studios with
producer Kevin McMahon (Swans, Titus Andronicus, Real Estate).
Each recording, and performance will center around a different focal concept, always seeking alternative ways of creating art. The name Nous was chosen for its double meaning. ‘Nous’ in the French language is the plural personal pronoun in the first person, meaning ‘we’ or ‘us’. However, within the philosophical tradition it is a word, sometimes equated to intellect or intelligence, used to describe the faculty of the human mind which is described in classical philosophy as necessary for understanding what is true or real, similar in meaning to intuition.
Nous band members on this recording:
~ Christopher Bono (Composer, Ghost Against Ghost)
~ Greg Fox (Guardian Alien, Zs, Ben Frost, ex-Liturgy)
~ Shahzad Ismaily (Yoko Ono, Laurie Anderson, Bonnie Prince Billy)
~ Thor Harris (Swans, Angels of Light, Amanda Palmer, Shearwater)
~ Grey Mcmurray (itsnotyouitsme, So Percussion, Tyondai Braxton)
Special guests:
~ Clarice Jensen (Cello, ACME: American Contemporary Music Ensemble, yMusic, Ra Ra Riot
~ Caleb Burhans (Composer, itsnotyouitsme, ACME)
~ Laura Lutzke (Violin, ACME)
~ Alex Sopp (Flutes, ACME, yMusic)
~ Imago (Cello, Vocals, Múm)
~ Laraaji & Arji (Zither, Ambient Sounds)
~ Akil Davis and Loud Sol Productions
NOUS II will be available on LP and download on December 6th, 2018 via Our Silent Canvas. Pre-orders are available HERE.

Artist: NOUS
Album: NOUS II
Record Label: Our Silent Canvas
Release Date: December 6, 2019

01. Look Again at That Dot
02. Formless
03. Here In My Chest It Is What It Is
04. Yoj! Yoj!
05. Nighten Gale
06. World Map One
07. Uthando
08. Formless Too
09. Assume a Sunbeam
On the Web:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: