Gypsybyrd “Eye Of The Sun” – Out now via Made Of Stone Recordings

The trippy, desert rock album “Eye Of The Sun” by Gypsybyrd is now released on a series of limited analogue formats

Black 180gram Vinyl, limited to 200 copies
Listen & get your copy now


Gypsybyrd are an individual musical project of American multi-instrumentalist Jake W. Lewis. Lewis came to the fore mostly through his participation in the doom band Burnt Ritual. This project signalled a change of direction and led to fresh ideas, mainly based on pure desert rock, hazy psych guitars and rhythmic funk. Apart from Lewis himself, the project also consists of Freddy Allen, the frontman-guitarist of Sun of Grey, who undertakes the duties of a bass player.

It was from the sessions of these two musicians that the debut album Eye of the Sun emerged. Indicating his fondness of desert rock from the title alone, Lewis presents us with a six-track EP, characterized by an interesting swapping of a chilling mood and volume, blues influences, dreamy vocals and ‘70s aesthetics. The peak comes —literally and metaphorically— with the album’s last track, The Mountain. In this song the duet gives us more than five minutes of atmospheric melodies, great instrumentalization and intensity.

Now, several months after it first release, Eye of the Sun is re-released in a unique, special vinyl edition by Made of Stone Recordings. Grab it and enrich your music library with one of the most well-hidden gems the American desert rock scene has to offer this year.

Gypsybyrd – Eye Of The Sun (Full Album 2020)

%d bloggers like this: