Grand Slam – New Single “Come Together (In Harlem)” Out Today Ahead Of New Album “Wheel Of Fortune”



Grand Slam release the video for “Come Together (In Harlem)”, the infectious third single from the new studio album, Wheel Of Fortune – out this week via Silver Lining Music.

Grand Slam directly engage with their talismanic, legendary founding energy with “Come Together (In Harlem)”, a moody, strutter of a song from the Phil Lynott days with (mostly) Phil Lynott’s lyrics.

“‘Come Together (In Harlem)’ is the only one song on the album which came from ’84,” offers guitarist and co-founding memberLaurence Archer, “Phil (Lynott) had a little bit of a thing about pop music as we call it, and he started going down this pop line at the time. I went away, completely rearranged it, wrote another part, and just brought it into our back yard. The whole song is really about ‘let’s come together’. The original subject matter was derived from Harlem by Phil, and we’ve extended the song into something else.”

Watch/Listen to ‘Come Together (In Harlem)’ here – Video Directed, Produced and Edited by Paul M Green.

Grand Slam’s story has been a true journey of destiny, one where early unions ended up leaving unfinished business on the table, and one which finally sees the band attending to said-business with the brand-new album Wheel Of Fortune. From Archer’s faultless, fearless fret-driven song architecture on ‘Spitfire’ to Dyer’s swagger and style on ‘There Goes My Heart’. There are moments such as ‘Come Together (In Harlem)’ where the spirit of original co-founder Phil Lynott is unmistakable, yet the multi-layered steamy swing of ‘Pirate Song’ makes it very clear Grand Slam are firing forwards with all guns blazing. Joined by Benjy Reid on drums and Rocky Newton on bass, the creative vigor and will to propel Grand Slam is stronger still, with the new album Wheel Of Fortune being the true statement to this.

“… already the opener ‘There Goes My Heart’ is catchy and cool. The next song has for sure the potential of a hymn…
All ten tracks have a lot of soul and you feel that Grand Slam all worked with their heart.
No difference if it is an old or new band – for sure a strong one” – 
Classic Rock

“Wheel Of Fortune” is a strong rock album with a good fair amount of music history” – Metal Hammer

“Grand Slam are back, refreshed and reinvented [and] could well provide the soundtrack
to a fine summer” 9/10 – Powerplay 

“An absolute tour de force with Archer scorching riffs that could set
cannon balls flying!” – 
Rock Candy

“With the new album Wheel Of Fortune, Laurence is setting a monument for the late band colleague 
and mentor, Phil Lynott” – Rock Hard [DE]

“Flawless album, consistent from first note to the end.” – Rock Hard [IT]

“….very strong and especially the title song at the end: a ballad starting with acoustic guitar and then into electric 
which raises the tension and dynamics.” – Good Times

“What a superb album that nods nicely to the Phil Lynott heritage but clearly establishes a 
Grand Slam sound for the 21st century.” – Rockposer

Wheel Of Fortune will be released this Friday June 7th on digital and physical formats. The album will be available in a variety of formats and pre-orders can be placed at this location

The first single/video released from the album, ‘There Goes My Heart’ is available to stream at this location (video directed, produced and edited by Paul M Green).

The second single/video released from the album, ‘Spitfire’ is available to stream at this location (Video by Fred Johanson).

Wheel Of Fortune Track Listing:

  1. There Goes My Heart
  2. Starcrossed Lovers
  3. Come Together (In Harlem)
  4. Trail Of Tears
  5. Feeling Is Strong (Jo’s Song)
  6. Spitfire
  7. I Wanna Know!
  8. Pirate Song
  9. Afterlife
  10. Wheel Of Fortune

Hit The Ground – Revised Track Listing:

  1. Gone Are The Days
  2. Nineteen
  3. Hit The Ground
  4. Military Man
  5. Crazy
  6. Dedication
  7. Long Road
  8. Sisters Of Mercy
  9. Crime Rate
  10. Grand Slam*

*not available on vinyl

Mike Dyer – vocals
Laurence Archer – guitars
Benjy Reid – drums
Rocky Newton – bass 

Wheel Of Fortune is Produced by Laurence Archer
Engineered by Pieter Rietkerk
Mixed by Laurence Archer
Mastered by Matt Wortham & Andy Pearce
Recorded at Chapel Studios; additional recording at Manamana Studios

Follow Grand Slam on: