Fozzy // Boombox // Album Review


FOZZY return after 5 long years with the eighth album Boombox, a rollicking yet occasionally introspective hard rock power trip. Snarling riffage kicks the album off without hesitation, par for the course for a band not known for pulling its punches. This lays a sonic groundwork for consistently melodic and inspirational vocals throughout, delivered with bravissimo and showmanship unique to inimitable frontman Chris Jericho.

The first song and lead single ‘Sane’ seemingly encapsulates sentiments shared by many over the course of the last 2 years; questioning one’s mental state in the confusing pandemic reality we found ourselves in. The album, penned with the working title ‘2020’ continues this train of thought across a number of its songs whilst also finding pensive self-reflection from Jericho on his life in the limelight and the many characters he has found himself playing.

Tracks ‘Purifier’ – a real foot-tapper with an impossibly catchy chorus hook, and ‘Nowhere to Run’ encapsulate a mature approach to riff-lead songwriting with seismic production. The latter feature is especially evident in ‘Ugly on the Inside’ also.

No stranger to recording memorable and sometimes unexpected covers, Jericho’s voice finds a perfect match to 80’s pop classic ‘Relax’, a tasteful rock reimagination of Frankie Goes to Hollywood’s undisputed masterpiece mid-way through the album. Judging by this recording and live performances, this rendition seems destined to capture the attention and hearts of live concerts and festival-goers for years to come.

Moving through the tracklisting with increasing pace there is a familiarity to latter songs, undeniably channelled through guitarist and co-writer Rich Ward’s tried and tested Fozzy formula, but rarely feel tiring or repetitive. By album’s closer ‘The Vulture Club’ the listener comes away with a renewed optimism for the spring and summer months ahead, with Fozzy’s latest album absolutely fitting the bill for the season’s soundtrack.
Review: Mike Lockheart

New Studio Album Boombox Out Now!

Via Mascot Records / Mascot Label Group (ex-NA)

Listen to the album via Spotify HERE

Order/Listen Here

FOZZY Lineup
Chris Jericho – Lead Vocals
Rich Ward – Guitar, Vocals
Billy Grey – Guitar
PJ Farley – Bass
Grant Brooks – Drums
Fozzy Online


1.     Sane
2.     I Still Burn
3.     Purifier
4.     Army Of One
5.     Ugly On The Inside
6.     Relax (Frankie Goes To Hollywood)
7.     Nowhere To Run
8.     My Great Wall
9.     What Hell Is Like
10.   Omen
11.   The Worst Is Yet To Come
12.   The Vulture Club

Mascot Label Group Online