Image may contain: one or more people and closeup

Finnish noise rockers Throat have revealed their new video “No Hard Shoulder.” The track hails from the band’s highly anticipated second album, Bareback, set for international release on August 31st via Svart Records. See & hear Throat‘s “No Hard Shoulder” in its entirety HERE.

Throat’s sophomore album, Bareback, sees the band plunge headfirst into unprotected encounters with musical elements hardly even hinted at on their previous releases.
With a new and improved lineup, Throat spice up their version of ’90s-inspired noise rock with more melodic post-hardcore and indie rock ingredients yet show no fear in throwing influences from AOR all the way to harsh noise into the concoction. The result might not be easy on the ears, but who cares for easy listening when guitars that sound like broken glass are so much fun?
Dissonance and feedback may have been Throat‘s first loves – still apparent on Bareback, as well – but as time has passed, they have have sought to experiment, giving flings with dynamics, harmony, and even machines a chance. Dynamics and harmony have crept into the vocals, as well, albeit Throat‘s sordid themes of the unbright side of life often demand a more feral approach.
The release of Bareback coincides with Throat’s first U.S. tour in August, previously having toured in the UK, France, Belgium in addition to countless shows in Finland, sharing the bill with the likes of Brainbombs, Torche, Unsane and Big Business.
Bareback was recorded by Tom Brooke at Tonehaven Recording Studio. Andrew Schneider (Unsane, Converge, Cult of Luna) handled the mixing duties while Carl Saff (Big Business, Kowloon Walled City, Unsane) helmed the mastering.
Full U.S. tour dates to be announced shortly. In the meantime, see & hear the brand-new video for “No Hard Shoulder” HERE at Svart‘s official YouTube channel. Preorder info to be announced shortly, as well. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:
Tracklisting for Throat’s Bareback
1. Safe Unsound
2. No Hard Shoulder
3. Recut
4. Bone Strike
5. Shortage (Version)
6. Born Old
7. Rat Domain
8. Maritime

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: