Legendary US Thrash Metallers EVILDEAD, who formed in 1986 and released one riotous EP and two cranium crunching landmark albums before imploding in 1992, have reunited and re-signed to Steamhammer / SPV to release their stunning third album, ‘United $tate$ Of Anarchy’ on October 30th as a Digipak CD, 140 gram orange with-black-swirls vinyl LP (with printed inner sleeves), download and stream.

EVILDEAD’s debut live performance was on April 11 1987 at Fender’s Ballroom in Long Beach, California, on a bill that also featured Cryptic Slaughter, Dark Angel, and Possessed. In 1988 the band signed a worldwide recording contract with SPV records and released the ‘Rise Above EP’, containing two original tracks, along with a cover version of Black Flag’s ‘Rise Above’ anthem. This generated a strong underground buzz with lots of airplay and media support which soon led to a strong fan base emerging.

The EVILDEAD sound was unique, highlighting a blend of speed and thrash metal guitar riffs along with hyper drumming locked in with an over the over the top thundering bass with punk overtones, complemented with lyrics that explored political, thought provoking social ideas, as well as horror and nuclear war themes. 

In the summer of 1988 EVILDEAD entered Music Grinder recording studios with producer/engineer Cacey McMakin (Nuclear Assault, Kreator) to record the classic full-length album ‘Annihilation Of Civilization’, released in September 1989 to rave reviews. Multiple plays of the video for the album’s title track ‘Annihilation Of Civilization’ on MTV’s ‘Headbangers’ Ball’ created greater worldwide recognition, leading later In 1989 to the band flying over from America for their first, hugely successful European tour, with co-headliners Laaz Rockit. 

In 1990 EVILDEAD returned to the recording studio with producer Warren Croyle to track their second studio album, ‘The Underworld’ which was released in June 1991, once more to rave reviews. ‘The Underworld’ attributed a more refined metal sound and featured a cover version of the Scorpions’ ‘He’s A Woman, She’s A Man’ with guest appearance by vocalist and metal legend David Wayne (Metal Church). But after releasing their follow up ‘Live…From The Depths Of The Underworld’ album the band disbanded in 1992 with members pursuing other projects.

In 2009 after constant inquiries and demands to reform for a reunion/live appearance; EVILDEAD returned in October with a line-up featuring original drummer Rob Alaniz along with original guitarist Juan Garcia, original bassist Mel Sanchez, and lead guitarist Albert Gonzales with Steve Nelson handling the vocal duties in place of original Vocalist Phil Flores. The band toured Europe in 2011 co-headlining shows with Sadistic Intent. This included live-appearances at the ‘Way Of Darkness’ Festival in Germany, and the ‘Jalometalli’ festival in Finland, plus additional dates throughout Europe.

EVILDEAD then went on hiatus in 2012 but returned on March 12th 2016 at the Love/Hate Rock Bar in Los Angeles, in celebration of drummer Rob Alaniz’s 50th birthday, with a  line-up featuring original vocalist Phil Flores, bassist Karlos Medina (from ‘The Underworld’ line-up), plus guitarists Albert Gonzales and Juan Garcia. Over the past few years EVILDEAD have performed select live shows to appease their new generation of fans while they have been hard at work with Producer Bill Metoyer on writing ‘United $tate$ Of Anarchy’

‘United $tate$ Of Anarchy’ which contains nine original new studio songs, plus a metalized cover version of the B-52’s ‘Planet Claire’( which will only available as a bonus track), was once again illustrated by seminal artist Edward J. Repka, who created the striking album cover. With ‘United $tate$ Of Anarchy’, a collection of vital new songs that are a throwback to their roots of Thrash, EVILDEAD have returned more powerful than ever and awakened again to annihilate the masses.


EVILDEAD “United $tate$ Of Anarchy”

Release Date:  October 30th, 2020

Format:           – CD Digipak

                       – LP, 1 bonustrack, orange with black swirls vinyl, printed inner sleeves

01. The Descending 3:12
02. Word Of God 3:04
03. Napoleon Complex 3:08
04. Green House 3:59
05. Without A Cause 3:05
06. No Difference 4:20
07. Blasphemy Divine 2:57
08. A.O.P. / War Dance 5:21
09. Seed Of Doubt 5:27

LP Bonus Track:
10. Planet Claire 2020 4:03 (bonus track)


Line Up:
Albert Gonzales – Rhythm/Lead Guitars

Juan Garcia – Rhythm/Lead Guitars
Rob Alaniz – Drums
Phil Flores – Lead Vocals
Karlos Medina – Bass

photos (c) Alex Solca


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: