Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania-based technical/progressive death metal project Equipoise recently announced the upcoming release of their debut full-length, Demiurgus. The album is set for release on March 8th through The Artisan Era. It is the follow up to the group’s 2016 heavily praised EP, Birthing Homunculi, whose material makes it’s way onto Demiurgus in a re-worked fashion far beyond their initial form.

Equipoise features an amalgamation of well-respected musicians within the technical death metal community from Pennsylvania, Illinois, Missouri, Denver, and Quebec. The band’s members play in established well-known acts including Beyond Creation, First Fragment, ex-The Faceless, Inferi, Wormhole, NYN, and more. Fans of Gorod, Inferi, Necrophagist, Vale of Pnath, and Death will appreciate all Equipoise – Demiurgus has to offer. 

Having banded together as a multi-national collective of renowned death metal musicians, Equipoise then undertook the task of furthering their initial vision on 2016’s Birthing Homunculi into the standout new heights reached throughout their upcoming full-length, Demiurgus. The end product, while exploding with endless guitar solos and incredibly complex songwriting throughout, remains the same as when the project began, to offer a death metal experience that’s both fun to listen to and memorable. Bandleader Nick Padovani comments on Equipoise as “Playing a melodic brand of technical/progressive death metal, we like to make frequent use of orchestral elements and flamenco guitar, as we feel good music shouldn’t be pigeonholed by any one sound.”

Today the band partnered with Toilet Ov Hell to premiere the album’s first single, “Waking Divinity”. In addition, pre-orders for Equipoise – Demiurgus are now live and linked to below. 

*You can listen to Equipoise – “Waking Divinity” HERE

Toilet Ov Hell comments on today’s premiere of “Waking Divinity”
“Waking Divinity” is, in a word, intense. It’s a more complex composition, less reliant on pedal tones and exploring a wider range of notes, taking those same ideas explored on the EP to the next level. Subtle time signature changes will keep you on your toes, and in spite of its speed, the note choice gives it a melancholy undertone that you don’t typically hear in this particular style. Flashy as it is, it’s also quite melodic; their showmanship isn’t wasted on riffs you won’t remember when the song stops.”

“That impressive musicianship comes as no surprise given the band’s lineup. That is a supergroup if I ever saw one, and it’s all the more reason to get excited for this release.”

Pre-orders for Equipoise – Demiurgus are now live

*Stay tuned for more Equipoise news, early singles, and reviewers promos to launch in the coming weeks.

Equipoise – Demiurgus Track Listing
1. Illborn Augury
2. Sovereign Sacrifices
3. Alchemic Web of Deceit
4. A Suit of My Flesh
5. Shrouded
6. Sigil Insidious
7. Reincarnated
8. Dualis Flamel
9. Eve of the Promised Day
10. Waking Divinity
11. Ecliptic
12. Squall of Souls
13.Cast Into Exile
14. Ouroboric

Equipoise – Demiurgus Line-Up 
Stevie Boiser (Inferi, Tethys, Ashen Horde, Ex-Vale of Pnath) – Vocals/Lyrics
Phil Tougas (First Fragment, Chthe’ilist, Zealotry, Serocs) – Guitar, Nylon Guitar
Nick Padovani – Guitar, Nylon Guitar
Sanjay Kumar (Wormhole, Perihelion) – Guitar
Hugo Doyon-Karout (Beyond Creation, Brought by Pain) – Fretless Bass
Jimmy Pitts (Eternity’s End, NYN, The Fractured Dimension) – Piano
Chason Westmoreland (Ex-The Faceless, Ex-Hate Eternal) – Drums

Equipoise Social Media Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: