Enthroned - Cold Black Suns - Album Review
Enthroned - Cold Black Suns - Album Review9
Enthroned - Cold Black Suns - Album Review9
Enthroned - Cold Black Suns - Album Review9
Enthroned - Cold Black Suns - Album Review9
Enthroned - Cold Black Suns - Album Review9
9Overall Score
Reader Rating: (1 Vote)

Having forged their names into the history of Black Metal over the last 25 years, Enthroned bring us their latest offering of despairingly bleak yet crushing and riff laden Blackness as the band push themselves further into the deep abyss.

 Having been formed in 1993 in Belgium, Enthroned released the debut Prophecies of Pagan Firewhich many consider to be an important album in the history of the genre, before tragedy struck and drummer Cernunnos took his own life in 1997. Since the loss of this founding member the band pushed forward using the recordings from rehearsals to create Towards The Skullthrone Of Satanand then have pushed long and hard to create 10 full length albums along with a live album, Eps and split releases. Now to follow the 2014 release Sovereigns, Cold Black Sunsis here to celebrate 26 years as one of the most important and influential Black Metal bands to lay waste to the bleak lands.

From the off the twisted and harrowing sounds begin, with simple yet haunting guitars and deep and sinister drums as opener ‘Ophiusa’ begins to draw in the shroud of darkness that we know will only worse as the atmosphere builds along with suspense that some dreadful horrors are around the corner. The band build the suspense for 3:42 before Hosanna Satana burns into a screaming and gurgling cacophony of crushing drums and slaying guitars, with sadistic riffs licking their way across the almost chant like vocal that is taking a very special sermon.

The sound created is regularly uncomfortable and the pace switches between a slow funeral march and a frenetic, heart racing speed as we progress through the 9 tracks that span some epic lengths from 2:16 up to the 9-minute album closer ‘Son of Man’.

The riffs in the likes of ‘Vapula Omega’ are nothing short of stunning as they slash their own horror across the cloud of dark smog that the other instruments and vocal create as the experienced band show exactly why they have remained at the pinnacle of Black Metal for so long and with offerings as strong as this, they will continue to be at the forefront of the genre for some considerable time.

Ed Ford

Cold Black Suns will be released June 7thvia Season of Mist

Track List
01. Ophiusa (03:42)
02. Hosanna Satana (02:16)
03. Oneiros (06:26)
04. Vapula Omega (04:55)
05. Silent Redemption (06:07)
06. Aghoria (04:14)
07. Beyond Humane Greed (05:01)
08. Smoking Mirror (07:07)
09. Son of Man (09:08)


Menthor: Drums
Neraath: Guitars, drones and effects
Nornagest: Vocals
Shagal: Guitars
Norgaath: Bass

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: