Thunderous rock with one of the meatiest sounds in the UK right now” – BBC Introducing

Today EMPYRE is delighted to announce the release of the first single and video “Too Little Too Late” taken from the band’s debut album “Self Aware”.

“Too Little Too Late” video can be watched here –

The single is a perfect preview of EMPYRE’s distinctive sonic domain: solid and thick rhythms; bold, heavy riffs, stained with a hint of blues reminiscences; sharp lyrics sung by front-man Henrik with flawless intensity, passion and a touch of sorrow.

Hailing from Northampton, the atmospheric rock four-piece is ready to present a truly accomplished first record. Filled with no fillers, “Self Aware” is a collection of 11 outstanding tracks, in which each song individually showcases a band with skillful songwriting and a bold sound.

Every song on this album has its own personality, and an underlining and unifying soundscape ties all the tracks together, fusing the roots of the style’s tradition with a unique musical edge, creating a distinctive, dark and introspective rock. From the gritty opener “My Bad” to the heavier and more intense “New Republic”; from the dramatic “Too Close” to the more upbeat “Drive”; from the hard-hitting “Too Little Too Late” to the atmospheric and epic “Homegrown”; each track is lyrically engaging and displays an unapologetic unique sound.

The band comments: “We feel we have encapsulated the essence of Empyre in its present guise in eleven tracks. Subtlety to anthemic. Lyrically ‘Self-Aware’ is an album with a dark tone, however the tracks conceal positive messages. Musically we try to hit a point between a soulful, melodic tone, whilst keeping it heavy enough to shake the foundations now and then. We’d describe it as a combination of gritty, sometimes haunting vocals with captivating guitar hooks and solos.”

Formed in 2016, Empyre saw a successful 2018, playing the international HRH Festival – Road To Ibiza and capturing the attention of BBC Introducing, which described the band’s sound as “triumphant, chest beating rock”. Empyre also performed a session for the renowned ‘Whispering’ Bob Harris’ – Under The Apple Tree Sessions”, a privilege usually reserved exclusively for country acts.

Ahead of the album release, Empyre performed two stand-alone shows in March, before embarking on a full UK rotating headline tour in May, with English rockers Ryders Creed and The Rocket Dolls.

“Self Aware” Track List

  1. My Bad
  2. Stone
  3. New Republic
  4. Too Close
  5. Just a Ride
  6. Drive
  7. Only Way Out
  8. Cut to the Core
  9. Too Little Too Late
  10. Something Remains
  11. Homegrown


UK Tour Dates

Fri 03 May             Yardbirds, Grimsby – RPM Takeover Tour

Sat 04 May             Hammer & Anvil, Birmingham – RPM Takeover Tour

Sun 05 May             King Billy Rock Bar, Northampton – RPM Takeover Tour

Fri 10th May             Iron Road Bar 57, Pershore – RPM Takeover Tour

Fri 17th May             Redrum, Stafford – RPM Takeover Tour

Sat 18th May             The Live Rooms, Chester – RPM Takeover Tour

Fri 7th Jun             Waterloo, Blackpool – RPM Takeover Tour

Sat 8th Jun             Bannermans, Edinburgh – RPM Takeover Tour


Empyre is: Henrik Steenholdt – vocals & rhythm guitar, Did Coles – lead guitar, Grant Hockley – bass – Elliot Bale – drums

“Self Aware” will be self-released on 5th July 2019


Useful Links

Website: / Facebook: /

YouTube: / Instagram:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: