Ellefson // No Cover // Album Review

Covers albums can be a hit or a miss depending on who does it and what tracks are used. While this was supposed to be a b-side filler for Dave’s new solo album due next year, rather than an actual album, it turned out pretty good.

With a massive track listing and guest line up to match, he takes some Classic Rock anthems and puts his own spin on them.  With tracks from Judas Priest, Motorhead, AC/DC, Twisted Sister, and Def Leppard to name but a few there is something for everyone and one or two that shouldn’t be on it at all. Thom Hazaert, the lead singer for Ellefson, holds center stage for the most part and his gravelly vocals suit tracks like “Freewheel Burning” and “Love Me Like A Reptile”, while Ministry’s Al Jourgensen lends his talents to “Auf Wiedersehen” by Cheap Trick, a strange combo but it works really well and is actually a cool version.

Other stand out tracks include “Holiday In Cambodia” featuring Charlie Benante of Anthrax, AC/DC’s “Riff Raff” with Dave Lombardo of Slayer fame, Billy Idol’s classic “Rebel Yell” which for my money along with Ozzy’s “Over The Mountain” vie for the track of the album. Doro lends her considerable vocal talents on a couple of tracks which is always a good thing, while Jason McMaster is brilliant on “Eat The Rich”. “Love Machine”, “Love Hurts” and “Beth” to be honest would not have been missed if they had been left off the album as they don’t really fit in with the dynamic of the album as a whole, and unfortunately “Love Hurts” in particular just plain hurts, other than that it is a pretty solid covers album that is well worth a listen





“No Cover” is out 20/11/2020 via earMusic


Ellefson are:

Dave Ellefson Bass

Thom Hazaert Vocals

Andy Martongelli Guitars

Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal Guitars

Paolo Caridi Drums


Guests include

Jason McMaster

Dave McClain

Doro Pesch

Charlie Benante

Dave Lombardo

Al Jourgensen






%d bloggers like this: