Egyptian/Canadian ELKO Release New EP ‘Painkiller Twilight’; New Music Video “Dishonest” Now Streaming

ELKO Releases New EP ‘Painkiller Twilight’

New Music Video “Dishonest” Now Streaming

Egyptian/Canadian Nonbinary Artist Has Amassed 15M+ Global Streams

” completely subverts expectation as well as shows just how versatile (ELKO) is. Beyond the cathartic songwriting, the instrumentals throughout the project are an experimental fusion of alternative, abrasive electronic, and synth driven pop.”- Ones To Watch


Photo: @nathanlau

Egyptian/Canadian nonbinary artist Elko blazed onto the alternative scene with their debut single “Drunk and Out of Town” in December 2019. Since then they’ve amassed 15M+ global streams, released debut album “Love Was The Reason”, been featured on OnesToWatch, LyricalLemonade, Elevator and collaborated with international artists phem and Lil Lotus.

Growing up in a Muslim household under parents who immigrated to Atlantic Canada from Egypt, Elko has always played the role of misfit, and their artistry is an extension of that disposition. Now, having released the PAINKILLER TWILIGHT EP, the theme of disillusionment mixed with an edge is blended into a modern, exciting encapsulation of young, post-genre music, a metaphor for our uncertain times.

Elko says, “As a kid I wasn’t allowed to express myself in so many ways, my sense of self had been really distorted. A few years ago I moved to Toronto and things started to change, but there were a lot of growing pains.

Painkiller Twilight is in many ways a narration of things I went through figuring out how to not feel disconnected all the time. It’s about still pushing through and exploring identity after being fucked up by life.”

PAINKILLER TWILIGHT was written during quarantine and features production from Jeff Hazin (glaive, renforshort), Colin Munroe (Ryan Woods, Roderick Porter), Caleb Jacob (lilyisthatyou) and Elko.

The lead single “Dishonest” is accompanied by a music video shot by Cincinnati media outlet Soul Serum (Jack Keys).

Stream the “Dishonest” Music Video HERE-


Screen Shot 2021-08-25 at 10.49.14 AM


1. Fall Apart

2. Dishonest

3. Selfish

4. Pretty Little Lies

5. Kicked Me Out feat. SuziWithAnUzi

6. Cutting Off Loose Ends feat. David Shawty

7. Common

8. I’m A Mess feat. BadMoodRude