Dumpstaphunk Official Video For ‘Where Do We Go From Here’ + Album Out Now


New Orleans funk powerhouse Dumpstaphunk releases ‘Where Do We Go From Here’
+ Reveal Official Video For The Song ‘Where Do We Go From Here’

It’s the band’s first full-length album in seven years, and undeniably the most powerful and politically pointed of their career.

Out Now via The Funk Garage

“You want funky? Oh, we’ll give you funky…It’s like Parliament-Funkadelic with politics.” Classic Rock

“Fancy something that sounds like The Meters, James Brown and Sly and the Family Stone with a dash of Living Color and Parliament?…Slamming Stuff!”  Guitarist

“The drums are thick and punchy, the guitars snapping, the bass thudding, the organ church infused and  the horns exclamatory with soulful vocals on top” Guitar Techniques

“This is brilliant” Powerplay

“Supremely accomplished musically, and with the ability to move heart, mind and feet simultaneously…a modern funk must have.” Blues in Britain

Pre-Order Here
Dumpstaphunk – Where Do We Go From Here (Official Music Video)

New Orleans funk powerhouse Dumpstaphunk has released ‘Where Do We Go From Here,’ their first full-length in seven years, and undeniably the most powerful and politically pointed album of their career. To celebrate today’s release, the band is unveiling a music video for the album’s title track, which speaks to the overall themes of the project.

“We’re all unsure sometimes about things around us and about our personal experience,” Ivan Neville toldGambit this week. “No matter who you are, no matter where you come from or what you believe in, we have some things in common and music is a common thread. Whether we’re feeling insecure or afraid of losing something or afraid of not getting what we want — let’s just look at it and do the next right thing and maybe things will turn out OK.”
‘Where Do We Go From Here’ is a sharply relevant statement, even more-so than the group anticipated during writing and recording sessions just prior to the unprecedented events of the last year. The band released the album’s title track “Where Do We Go From Here” in August 2020, to commemorate the 15th anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, earning praise from the New York Times for its “slinky funk backbeat” and “gospel determination.” On the eve of the presidential election the band strategically released the single  “Justice 2020” (featuring Chali 2na and Trombone Shorty), which became an unofficial anthem of the social justice movement. The powerful music video led the New York Times to name “Justice 2020” one of the “Top 20 Songs of 2020,” in part to the music video’s strong message alluding to social injustice, systemic racism, police brutality and the need for change, while also demanding lyrically that as human beings “We Are All Beautiful.”

The band’s arsenal of classic and modern influences can be heard throughout the new album, a distinctive mix of genuine New Orleans funk, old school R&B and guitar fueled modern rock; from the slap-bass rave “Make It After All” to the band’s contemporary renderings of New Orleans R&B rarities  (the 1975 Blackmail gem “Let’s Get At It”) and early Seventies classics (Sly and the Family Stone’s “In Time”). “We hope people can hear the new songs and are inclined to dance, and inspired to think at the same time,” says Ivan, speaking to the new album’s delicate balance between topic material and dance-floor rockers.

Over the past 17 years, Dumpstaphunk has earned its reputation as a highly respected next-generation New Orleans musical institution, the type of band whose live performances have attracted sit-ins from legends like Carlos Santana, Bob Weir, George Clinton and members of Phish.  Alongside original core members Tony Hall and Nick Daniels,  and the new additions of Alex Wasily, Ryan Nyther and drummer Devin Trusclair,  Ivan and Ian Neville (the sons of Aaron Neville and Art “Poppa Funk” Neville respectively) have built upon their family’s iconic Nola legacy as they’ve transformed Dumpstaphunk into the city’s pre-eminent 21st-century funk-fusion export, resulting in recent career highlights like their July 2019 opening gig for the Rolling Stones on their home turf at the New Orleans Mercedes Benz Superdome.


Dumpstaphunk ft. Marcus King – United Nations Stomp

Dumpstaphunk – “Justice 2020” ft. Chali 2na & Trombone Shorty (Official Music Video)

1. United Nations Stomp
2. Make It After All
3. Backwash
4. Let’s Get At It
5. Where Do We Go From Here
6. Itchy Boo
7. In Time
8. Do You
9. Dumpstamental
10. Sounds
11. Justice 2020
%d bloggers like this: