Dräger releases new album Goths à la Discothèque

Dräger releases new album
Goths à la Discothèque out today on Trash Casual

Photo Credit: Georgia Mitropoulos | Download

LISTEN: Goths à la Discothèque

WATCH: “The Villain You Need” (Music Video)

“music situated at the edge of retro new wave, alt soul, and punk rhythms, all filtered through
a sarcastic take on modern melancholia.”  
Under The Radar

“A pinch of disco and lots of swirling riffs are what make “Light Years” feel like a
kaleidoscopic waltz with some of your most soul-consuming thoughts.”

Today, Brooklyn-based artist and creator Dräger has released his debut full-length album, Goths à la Discothèque, out on Trash Casual. With his hand on the pulse of a generation saturated in anxiety and melancholia, part sarcastic but overall playful—Dräger takes a light hand to the heavy themes of technology, love, and society at the precipice of a new world. These themes are found strewn throughout the album, which he wrote, produced, recorded, and mixed on his own in his home studio. The eleven songs on the record take inspiration from the unhinged and tumultuous year 2020, reflecting on having to make our digital world seems more real than the natural world and a rebirth to new ideas, whether painful or exciting. It’s a modern take on the idea of “sex, drugs, and rock & roll,” composed of brooding and synth-happy moments balancing between what’s tangible and what’s fantasy.

Opener and lead single “The Villain You Need” is an alluring number that dives into the superiority complex of a hero and how sometimes you need to be the bad guy to do the right thing. Drawing inspiration from artists like David Bowie and Roxy Music, Dräger has created his own genre aptly named “synthedelic-pop.” This sound shines through on tracks like “No One Knows”, “Low Hanging Fruit”, and “Desperation.” Rounding out the record is the club-ready title track, ”Goths à la Discothèque”, commenting on being drawn to superficial feelings, and “Back Of My Mind”, which kicks off on an experimental note before addressing the need to be optimistic and avoid the voices telling you otherwise.

On Goths à la Discothèque, Dräger is setting out to talk about the hardships of the contemporary world and present them in a way that could soundtrack a party. You can stream the album here now: https://orcd.co/gothsaladiscotheque

Album Artwork | Download
1. The Villain You Need
2. No One Knows
3. Purveyors Of…
4. Light Years
5. Are We Gonna Make It?
6. When We’re Alone
7. Low Hanging Fruit
8. Damn
9. Desperation
10. Goths à la Discothèque
11. Back Of My Mind
%d bloggers like this: