Taking electronic-fused brit-rock revival into their own hands, three-piece Aussie indie band DMA’s are set to release their highly anticipated 3rd album ‘THE GLOW’ on July 10th.

Creating a lot of buzz since the band’s inception with two well-received albums, as well as having one of their songs feature on the soundtrack to FIFA 17, the band has built a large fanbase in their years together. On this new record, DMA’s take their trademark indie sound in a much more commercial-pop influenced direction and the result is like nothing the band has put out before. The crisp production all over this record is a clear step up from the band’s previous releases and helps keep the buzzing energy alive across the 11 tracks.

Fusing sequenced dance beats with sparkling electric guitars and fat, deep basslines combined with somewhat dark undertones – the opening tracks (including recent single ‘Life is a game of Changing’) immediately get the feel-good vibes going. The upbeat rhythms to get your feet moving and catchy hooks to sing along with show that these songs were written for a live show and festival atmosphere… unfortunately the band’s scheduled tour for the new record had to be cut off due to recent events.

While clearly stirring up a party across these songs, the band also take advantage of melody and expression on the more ballad type, emotionally-driven songs such as single ‘Silver’, track 7 ‘Learning Alive’ and track 9 ‘Appointment’ showing off the other end of their sound spectrum while still keeping the glistening production and polished vocals. Despite the record overall going down a much more commercial route than the band’s previous works, straightforward pop-rock songs such as ‘Hello Girlfriend’ and ‘Round & Around’ do well to solidify the album and will surely please fans of the bands earlier work and new fans alike.

THE GLOW is available everywhere on July 10th.

Review: Harry Bunker 


  • Never Before
  • The Glow
  • Silver
  • Life Is a Game of Changing
  • Criminals
  • Strangers
  • Learning Alive
  • Hello Girlfriend
  • Appointment
  • Round & Around
  • Cobracaine


THE GLOW will be available to purchase on CD, download and heavyweight black vinyl as well as limited edition heavyweight tricolour vinyl through HMV and independent record stores. There will also be exclusive merchandise bundles with signed prints plus limited-edition heavyweight transparent green vinyl, cassette and highly limited signed test pressings when purchased through the band’s store at: 

DMA’S are Tommy O’Dell, Matt Mason and Johnny Took. The band formed in Sydney and made an immediate impression with their self-titled 2014 debut EP. Their full-length debut, HILLS END, saw them crash into Australia’s Top 10, earning three ARIA Music Award nominations for Best Group, Best Rock Album and Best Independent Release. In 2018, they became one of the first Australian bands to play the iconic MTV Unplugged session, following in the footsteps of all-time greats such as Nirvana, Oasis and R.E.M. The performance was captured in 2019’s MTV UNPLUGGED LIVE album.

Their second studio album, FOR NOW, was released in 2018, and achieved their highest UK chart position of #13, boosted by huge ongoing daytime support at radio. An impressive 40,000 tickets were sold on their headline UK tours in 2019, and they continued that ascension with main stage sets at Isle of Wight, TRNSMT and Citadel alongside huge outdoor shows with Courteeners and Noel Gallagher’s High-Flying Birds.








Harry Bunker / [email protected]

%d bloggers like this: