DeWolff – Psychedelic southern rock inspired by John Steinbeck, Al Green, Sam Cooke

Psychedelic southern rock meets classic soul and R&B on ‘Love, Death & In Between,’ the new full-length record by Dutch rockers DeWolff

Out February 3rd via Mascot Records/Mascot Label Group, the album was inspired by Al Green, Sam Cooke, and John Steinbeck

Listen to the latest single “Counterfeit Love” and watch the official video for lead single “Heart Stopping Kinda Show

Pre-order ‘Love, Death & In Between’ HERE

Today, the Dutch rock band DeWolff have released “Counterfeit Love,” the second single from their upcoming, full-length album ‘Love, Death & In Between,’ out February 3rd via Mascot Records / Mascot Label Group. “‘Counterfeit Love” is all about fake love,” the band explains. “Where does it come from? What is it worth? Where can you spend it? How can you spot it? Held up to the light it might show its color shifting truth! Like the rest of the album, everything you hear was recorded live in one take to analog tape at the Kerwax Studio in France. It’s got a blistering Hammond solo that was conceived at the very last minute, and it might just be the most Zeppelin-esque thing we ever recorded!”

Counterfeit Love” follows the album’s lead single “Heart Stopping Kinda Show,” which was released just after the band finished up a 13-date run with The Black Crowes across mainland Europe. Mixing psychedelic southern rock with classic soul, ‘Love, Death & In Between’ is a reaction to the band’s previous two studio albums: ‘Tascam Tapes,’ which was recorded on the road with a four-track cassette recorder from the 1980s, and their socially distanced recording ‘Wolffpack,’ which debuted at #2 on the Dutch charts. “For this, we wanted to do something with people,” singer/guitarist Pablo van de Poel recalls – “as many people as possible,”

Watch the official music video for “Heart Stopping Kinda Show” by DeWolff
The lightning strike moment for ‘Love, Death & In Between’ came via Memphis. “In 2019, I attended a sermon by Al Green at his own church, and it was a life-changing experience, musically,” Pablo remembers. In May 2022, they went to Kerwax, an analogue studio in the village of Loguivy-Plougras in Brittany. “We thought, let’s go on an adventure,” he says. Located in Northwestern France and surrounded by forests, they retreated to the residential studio for two weeks, engulfed in vintage recording equipment from the 1940s to the 1970s.

Recording live to tape, with no overdubs, brothers Pablo (guitar/vocals) and Luka van de Poel (drums/vocals) alongside Robin Piso (Hammond/Wurlitzer) were joined by a host of friends for the recording. The themes on the album were partly inspired by novels from 20th-century American authors, particularly John Steinbeck’s Tortilla Flat. “There is a quote from him, ‘The good story lay in half-told things which must be filled in out of the hearer’s own experience,’ and that was something I really wanted to do with lyrics on this record.” At the same time, the band was diving deep into old soul and R&B records – Sam Cooke, The Impressions, The Coasters, The Clovers, Ray Charles and Little Richard, as well as a heavy dose of gospel – The Soul Stirrers, Al Green and early records by The Staple Singers.

“Counterfeit Love,” wears its heart on its sleeve, whereas the 16-minute “Rosita” shows their progression. “How I want to write now, is more reflected in songs like this,” he says. “I wanted those lyrics to feel like a story, but also a journey within itself.” “Heart Stopping Kinda Show” is “how I see life,” he adds. “Life is the heart-stopping kinda show. I was writing with Tortilla Flat in mind. These characters are not constantly overthinking things; they live, drink wine, and have these beautiful moments. They are doing the ultimate living. In the song, I wanted to describe the things in life that are beautiful.” “Will o’ the Wisp” has a seductive darkness, whilst “Night Train,” “Message for my Baby”, and “Wontcha Wontcha” are joyous roof-raisers.

Photo credit: Satellite June
Out of the rural surroundings of Brittany, DeWolff left with twelve songs, over four tapes, with friends, having fun and remembering what is most important to them. On a diet of Al Green, Sam Cooke, and John Steinbeck, they’ve created some of their most soulful but rousing music. When they sing, “Hey there baby won’t you come on in, I got plenty of old records that we can play, some rhythm & blues, some old rock ‘n roll, yes, the type of stuff that can save a soul”, you better get ready for that heart-stopping kinda show.

Stay tuned for continued updates.

‘Love, Death & In Between’ by DeWolff
1. Night Train
2. Heart Stopping Kinda Show
3. Will o’ the Wisp
4. Jacky Go To Sleep
5. Rosita
6. Mr. Garbage Man
7. Counterfeit Love
8. Message For My Baby
9. Gilded (Ruin of Love)
10. Pure Love
11. Wontcha Wontcha
12. Queen of Space & Time

%d bloggers like this: