Dayshifter fight stigmas in defiant debut studio album ‘Hiraeth’

Dayshifter fight stigmas in defiant debut studio album ‘Hiraeth’


Newcastle-based melodic hardcore five-piece Dayshifter, are pleased to reveal their debut studio album ‘Hiraeth’ released today, June 8th 2023.

Formed in 2017, Dayshifter have been on a mission to carve out their own unique sound, blending the intensity of hardcore with the melody of alternative rock. With a handful of successful singles under their belt the band soon became known for their emotive and powerful sound, going on to share the stage with the likes of Loathe, King 810 and Oceans Ate Alaska.

Their debut album Hiraeth was recorded over three weekends with Dan Kerr (Our Hollow Our Home, Shields) at Avenue Studios in Surrey. The album centres itself around the themes of mental health, depression and anxiety. Through songs about love, loss, death and the inner workings of the mind during life’s darkest moments, the album aims to break down the stigma surrounding mental health and encourage open communication.

While the lyric matter is oftentimes bleak, the music is nothing short of defiant.  The band seamlessly blends eerie synth backdrops, tight punchy drums, unrelenting metal riffs and thunderous basslines with vocals that intertwine between beautiful heartfelt harmonies to downright throat busting screams.

Discussing what they hope to achieve with the album the band explain: “Our goal with Hiraeth is to break down the stigma surrounding mental health and encourage open communication. We hope to use our music as a platform to show listeners that they are not alone in their struggles and that there is always someone who understands how they feel.”

Ahead of the album’s release came its leading single ‘Fever Dreaming’ on April 7th. The song explores the difficult themes of depression and grief, as the band reflect on the struggle to find clarity and meaning in these moments.




Nathan Dillon – Vocals
Tom Simpson – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Kyle Foster – Guitar
James Taylor – Bass, Backing Vocals
Liam Robson – Drums


1. Emerald Green
2. Holy Ghost
4. Rain (Forever)
5. Rosé
6. Old Souls, Young Hearts
7. Anywhere But Here
8. Buried In Grey
9. Hiraeth
10. Fever Dreaming


While She Sleeps
Like Moths To Flames
The Plot In You

There’s nothing negative to say here. This is a thing of beauty and a simply outstanding arrival for this band. Pick a song, there are ten, and it will hit you with all the force of a meteor falling out of space. – GBHBL

This band really likes bouncing between styles, and they do it really fucking well! – HEAVY Mag