Davy Knowles Reveals ‘Solid Ground’ Video + New Album Out Now


Singer-Songwriter and Guitarist Davy Knowles Releases New Album, ‘What Happens Next’

Out today via Provogue Records/Mascot Label Group

Watch the video for the album’s latest single, Solid Ground

Listen to What Happens Next vis Spotify HERE

Picture (c) Timothy Schmidt

“A mammoth groove” Classic Rock 8/10

“A special album.” Powerplay 9/10

“This is a fresh embrace of old and new genres.” Guitar Techniques 8/10

“This album sweeps through a variety of stylish rock and blues. “ Blues in Britain

Davy Knowles – “Solid Ground” (Official Music Video)

Buy Here

Today, with the release of his aptly-titled new album, ‘What Happens Next,’ singer-songwriter and guitarist Davy Knowles boldly steps forward with timeless and cohesive songwriting; sleek modern production; and a lyrical, play-for-the-song guitar approach informed from soul, folk, rock, and blues.

To celebrate the release, Knowles has just premiered a video for the album’s latest single “Solid Ground,” calling it, “my no-nonsense rocker moment on the album. “I wanted a tough riff, something to shout over in the verses,” Knowles explains. “Sometimes I feel as a writer you can think too much, get caught up in trying to be smart or clever, when really what you need to get the emotional job done is yell and play loud electric guitar!’

Just as influenced by The Black Keys, Fantastic Negrito, Gary Clark Jr., as it is Muddy Waters, Junior Kimbrough, and R.L. Burnside, ‘What Happens Next’ is a cohesive body of work rather than a collection of disparate songs. “When it came time to record this album, it was all about supporting the songs as opposed to ‘how quickly I can get to the guitar solo’,” the Isle of Man-born, Chicago-based artist says laughing. “I’m not a purist, and the way for roots music to stay relevant is to adapt and progress.”

Produced by Eric Corne (John Mayall, Joe Walsh, Joe Bonamassa), ‘What Happens Next’ offers a peaks-and-valleys album experience winding through brawny riffs, jazzy blues balladry, and vintage soul, before concluding with one of Knowles’s most personal songs released to date. Throughout it all, his guitar playing is brilliantly understated, his rhythm work is deft and dynamic. The album bursts open with, “Light Of The Moon,” a swaggering riff-rocker replete with vibey 1960s organ flourishes, hooky minor-tinged refrains, and impassioned soul-drenched vocals. Here, Davy’s lead breaks drip sustain, vibrato, and sublime bluesy melodicism.

Knowles first burst onto the scene at the age of 20 with his band Back Door Slam, garnering rave reviews, making national US television appearances (Jimmy Kimmel LiveGood Morning America), earning extensive triple-A radio airplay, and achieving two Top 5 Billboard Blues charting albums. Since then he has been solo, and he independently released two more studio albums, 2014’s The Outsider and 2016’s Three Miles From Avalon, which also hit the Top 5 on the Billboard Blues chart. He’s earned plum endorsements from D’Addario strings, PRS guitars, Bludotone amps, and Celestion speakers, became the first musician in history to play live directly to the International Space Station from Mission Control in Houston, and held his own sharing the stage with such heavyweight artists as The Who, Jeff Beck, Gov’t Mule, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Kid Rock, Joe Bonamassa, Sonny Landreth, Peter Frampton, Joe Satriani, and Sammy Hagar, among many others.

Despite the songs on ‘What Happens Next’ featuring concise lead guitar playing, fans of Knowles’s fleet-fingered lead style fear not for the blues-rock fire still burns inside him. Knowles says: “This album taught me about restraint in terms of guitar playing. I had to reign it in to let the songs breathe, but I am looking forward to reimagining them and stretching out when we play live.”

Davy Knowles – Hell To Pay (Official Video)
Davy Knowles – Roll Me (Lyric Video)
Davy Knowles – Light Of The Moon
1. Light Of The Moon
2. Heartbreak Or Nothing
3. Roll Me
4. Get Lucky
5. Devil & The Deep Blue Sea
6. One & The Same
7. Solid Ground
8. River
9. Side Show
10. Hell To Pay
11. Wake Me Up When The Nightmare Is Over
12. If I Ever Meet My Maker
%d bloggers like this: