Daniel Tompkins - Castles - Album Review
Daniel Tompkins - Castles - Album Review 8
Daniel Tompkins - Castles - Album Review 8
Daniel Tompkins - Castles - Album Review 8
Daniel Tompkins - Castles - Album Review 8
Daniel Tompkins - Castles - Album Review 8
8Overall Score
Reader Rating: (1 Vote)

Daniel Tompkins vocalist of TesseracT, steps out from the comfort of an established and highly regarded band to take on the world as a solo artist with his debut release Castles.

An emotively charged album, it is a delicate introduction to Tompkins as a solo artist with a collection of well poised and stirring songs that envelope you one by one. A sonically intriguing album, filled with subtle nuances that create a cinematic-like quality within each track, you can’t but help be impressed by the magnitude of the production. Tompkins has created a world within these seven original tracks and further six re-workings that speak volumes as to who he is as an artist.

The multi-layered vocals create an atmosphere fused with electronica and thrashing guitars that stir the emotions, pushing and pulling you in different directions to challenge you as a listener and keep you on the edge of your seat wondering where this ride will take you.

Within Castles, the listener will explore an album inspired by the arc of relationships – tragic mistakes, misjudgements of character and victorious, passionate love.

Daniel expands on this theme “Everyone has experiences that are relatable to one another in their romantic relationships. We make huge investments of trust and care and commitment into one another and sometimes they simply fail. In fact, most fail. That said, some survive, thrive and create incredible lifelong partnerships or at least important, long-lasting love. But sometimes, we make massive misjudgements of character and the true nature of someone is always revealed over time. Sometimes tragic mistakes, physical or mental abuse, compulsion or addiction are an issue and create irreparable harm to relationships and lives, no matter how in love two people may be. This is the area where the most tragic outcomes occur. The album is somewhat cathartic lyrically but in other areas, it explores amazing, victorious, passionate love. A lot of this story is told from the perspective of someone seeking that perfect partnership and the ultimate fulfilment of finding it.”

As a solo artist Tompkins has made his mark with his debut solo release, no holes barred he has created an album as individual as he is and without compromise which for any artist, is the biggest step of all.

Castles is available now via KSCOPE

1. Saved [04:19]
2. Black The Sun [05:56]
3. Castles [05:08]
4. Kiss [04:41]
5. Limitless [04:30]
6. Cinders [05:49]
7. Telegraph [04:36]
8. Black The Sun (Head Rework) [05:37]
9. Limitless (feat. Dmitry Stepanov) [04:51]
10. Kiss (feat. Randy Slaugh) [04:12]
11. Saved (feat. Acle Kahney) [03:36]
12. Saved (feat. Paul Ortiz) [03:50]
13. Saved (feat. Randy Slaugh) [03:33]

Follow Daniel Tompkins:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: