CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX are now streaming their entire new masterpiece ‘Great Escape’. The record is slated for worldwide release on September 14th, 2018. Listen to the album below.

Mastermind Justin Greaves comments: “Great Escape was born from a place of resignation to stressful and painful things, like holding my hands up and shouting “I don’t care anymore, I just want out of this” … Which then opened the door to a lot of other topics which relate to this state of mind, and these topics are what fueled this album. 
Whether it’s internal struggles, or things in the wide world that make us despair, or wanting to help the voiceless animals escape human tyranny, most people can relate to escapism in different forms. 
‘Great Escape’ is not an album of singles to achieve maximum popularity, but then no CBP album is. Sonically it’s true CBP and I hope fans get that old familiar misery -vs- hope vibe. Stick on the headphones and turn it up! There’s some very cool stuff happening under the surface of the songs. 
I’ll just leave it there along with this quote from Alan Watts which sums up a lot of what this album represents.  
“As soon as we are born we are labeled; name, race, nationality, family, status… We are inserted into a story not of our making. As soon as we start walking and exploring the majestic world around us we are told ‘oh, but you must go to school now! You must finish school to go to high school. You must finish high school to go to college. You must master a degree so you can get a good job. You must work hard so you can be promoted. You must make a family. You must buy a house. You must… you must… you must…’ Until you retire. And then what?” “
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX have previously revealed the artwork for ‘Great Escape’, which can be viewed together with the album details below.
Track-list ‘Great Escape
1. You Brought It Upon Yourselves (3:43)

To You I Give (9:22)
3. Uncivil War (pt I) (2:50)

4. Madman (4:51)

5. Times, They Are A’Raging (11:58)

6. Rain Black, Reign Heavy (5:58)

7. Slow Motion Breakdown (4:34)

Nebulas (5:35)
9. Las Diabolicas (3:49)

10. Great Escape (pt I) (7:36)

11. Great Escape (pt II) (13:03)
Great Escape’, this beautiful touch of darkness comes hardly as a surprise, when taking into account that CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX mastermind Justin Greaves has previously gone public about his personal fight against severe depression. Similar dark themes and traits have already been a hallmark of the UK rockers’ latest full-length, ‘Bronze’ (2016).

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX have always confounded critics trying to pin their style down ever since founder Justin Greaves recorded his first ideas in 2004 – which earned them tagging attempts ranging from “stoner prog” through “freak folk” to “psychedelic doom”. Despite the wide range of musical leanings within their albums, there are a unifying dark streak and somber melancholy running through the songs. Greaves had already made himself a name as drummer for IRON MONKEY and ELECTRIC WIZARD among others. When the multi-instrumentalist finally decided to stand on his own musical feet, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX was born. This involves a changing cast of musicians and live set-ups which mirrored the ever-ongoing evolution of the band, and the fact that the songs were mostly not composed with a live performance on mind. 

Between 2007 and 2014,
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX released a string of five critically highly acclaimed studio albums – namely ‘A Love of Shared Disasters’ (2007), ‘The Resurrectionists’ (2009), ‘Night Raider’ (2009), ‘(Mankind) The Crafty Ape’ (2012), and ‘White Light Generator’ (2014). This was complemented by EPs ‘I, Vigilante’ (2010), ‘No Sadness or Farewell’ (2012), and ‘Oh’ Ech-oes’ (2015), the live recording ‘Live Poznan’ (2013), and the ‘200 Tons of Bad Luck’ compilation (2009). Their ‘New Dark Age Tour EP 2015 A.D.’ was the band’s first release on Season of Mist and came with an extensive homage to PINK FLOYD. The strong influence of the UK rock giants could also be felt on ‘Bronze’ (2016), yet while CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX never denied their roots, this outstanding act has long created their own sonic cosmos. 

With last year’s ‘Horrific Honorifics’ offering, the band elegantly payed tribute to great artists and classic songs while making those tracks their own in sound and spirit without compromising the integrity of the original masterpieces.

Now with ‘Great Escape’,
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX take you on their new adventure and let you explore their sonic cosmos even further, and where all its emotions are reflected on to this earth. From the angry “Rain Black”, to the unnerving “Madman” and forgiving “Nebulas”, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX arise once more.

Style: Dark Rock
Justin Greaves – drums and percussion, guitars, bass, samples, saw, backing vocals

Ben Wilsker – drums

Daniel Änghede – guitar, backing vocals.

Jonas Stålhammar – guitar

Tom Greenway – bass

Mark Furnevall – synthesizers, Hammond, backing vocals

Helen Stanley – grand piano, synthesizer, backing vocals, trumpet

Belinda Kordic – vocals, percussion

Guest vocals
Great Escape (Pt I) Belinda Kordic and Daniel Änghede

Recording: Chapel Studio, Lincolnshire
Producer: Justin Greaves
Mixed/Mastered: Tri-Lamb Studio, Karl Daniel Lidén

Cover art: Peder Bergstrand

Booking contact: [email protected]


Available formats
Digipak CD

2 CD in 36-page artbook with bonus tracks

Gatefold double LP in various 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: