Cormac Neeson’s stunning ‘White Feather’ album will be reissued on Friday May 15th in both Cd and Vinyl format on Social Family Records. The new Cd version consists of 16 tracks including two brand new studio recordings, three bonus tracks a new radio mix of lead single Do Something Today.

Originally released only as a 10 track limited edition, ‘White Feather‘ was a top 5 album in the official UK Country Rock charts and received critical acclaim across the board, one that will sit easily alongside the classic singer – songwriter narrative albums.

Single ‘Do Something Today’  has been given a fresh new mix and will be released on March 16th, along with a new video for the single.

Cormac states: “I’m thrilled to have White Feather reissued by Social Family Records as a brand new package including our long awaited Vinyl 12” not to mention two brand new recordings! This has been long journey for me and I can’t wait for May with the release and UK headline shows.”

CD White Feather track listing:
1.         White Feather
2.         Do Something Today (Album Mix)
3.         Don’t Wait Up
4.         Broken Wing
5.         §Sweet Gentle Love
6.         Oh Son
7.         Song That Lives Forever
8.         Look Down On Me
9.         Artefact
10.        Home To Me
11.        Everywhere But Here (Bonus Track)
12.        What You Do To Me (Bonus Track)
13.        Whole Again (Bonus Track)
14.        Sometimes You Gotta Make A Change (New Recording)
15.        Blue Beyond The Grey (New Recording)
16.        Do Something Today (Radio Mix)

“Songs such as Broken Wing reaffirm his status as one of Ireland’s finest singers, this musical detour delivers in spades” (Hot Press)
“Semi acoustic, honest and very beautiful, this is just joyous”  (Powerplay)
“These tracks are uplifting and life embracing“. (Classic Rock)
“For all it’s heavyweight subject matter, there’s a sense of joy and gratitude running through this 10 song set. Any one of these timeless, tastefully crafted songs could serve to broaden Neeson’s commercial appeal” (Planet Rock Magazine)

Cormac and his band will perform a full album set on the main stage of the sold out Planet Rock Winters End festival, Dorset, March 1st followed by three headline club shows in May.
UK shows:
Mar 1st              Planet Rock Winters End Festival
May 13th           Slaughtered Lamb, Clerkenwell, London
May 14th           The Louisiana, Bristol
May 15th           The Eagle Inn, Manchester

Cormac Neeson, the lead singer of Northern Irish rock band The Answer, blazed the road to rock ‘n’ roll glory for the better part of a decade, touring the world, sharing stage supports with the likes of AC/DC and The Rolling Stones, achieving both fan and peer respect as not only an outstanding vocalist but consummate performer. Yet, recessed deep within his creative subconscious lay his Dylan destiny, a Celtic story telling muse that gnawed for release from the straight jacket of rock ‘n’ roll.

It is well documented that the last The Answer record Solas (2016), arrived unexpectedly, borne from moments of solitude, darkness and desperation. This was in part inspired by Neeson’s journey from the edge of personal trauma as he overcame his first-born son Dabhog’s premature, life threatening and complicated birth. Following Solas,Neeson decided it was finally time to reach for something different.

Following three intensive song writing trips to the USA over a period of 15 months, the album was recorded 2018 in Nashville at the legendary Studio 19, now the Sound Kitchen. Cormac immersed himself in the rich musical history of both the studio and the city, channelling a re-energised creativity working with some of the finest Nashville musicians including Steve Grossman on drums (Gibson Miller band, India Arie), Doug Kahan on bass (Cody Johnson) and John Heinrich on Pedal Steel (Garth Brooks, Shania Twain, and Tammy Wynette).

Following the album tracking, he returned to complete dubbing and mixing in Belfast where he brought in some of Northern Ireland’s finest musicians to help with final arrangements. The result is a powerful blend of two diverse and rich musical cultures, a Celtic Nashville concoction connected by Neeson’s unique vocal tones and song writing prowess, performing songs co-written with leading USA and Nashville country songwriters including 2016 Tennessee songwriter of the year Corey Lee Barker; Steve O Brien, Blue Miller, Chase Akers, Blake Densmore and Allen McKendree Palmer who between them have sold in excess of 30 million songs.

In Feb 2019, Neeson became a brand ambassador for the learning disability charity, Mencap NI, a partnership that stemmed from Mencap’s instant connection with the lyrics of the song Broken Wing. In 2014, his son Dabhóg was born three months prematurely with Down’s Syndrome and the impact of that life changing experience had such a lasting and profound effect that Neeson sought solace in penning an autobiographical and emotional account of his inner thoughts and what it’s like to bring up a child with disability. It’s no surprise then that much of the powerful subject matter of White Feather album is rooted in the life changing events of the past five years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: