Children Of Bodom - Hexed - Album Review
Children Of Bodom - Hexed - Album Review 8
Children Of Bodom - Hexed - Album Review 8
Children Of Bodom - Hexed - Album Review 8
Children Of Bodom - Hexed - Album Review 8
Children Of Bodom - Hexed - Album Review 8
8Overall Score
Reader Rating: (1 Vote)

Children of Bodom went back into the studio 3 years after their last release in 2015 to record their tenth studio album Hexed. It is the first album to feature guitarist Daniel Freyberg since he joined the band in 2016. Children of Bodom have strong musicianship running through their veins and it certainly shows again on the latest release.

Opening with ‘The Road’ a hectic start with strong riffage while throwing in a few pinch harmonics, while moving onto the first single ‘Under Grass and Clover’ which is much more melodic sounding and wouldn’t be out of place on their earlier albums. Excellent guitar work is something I could repeat over and over as you’d expect from a Children of Bodom album.

‘Hecate’s Nightmare’ things get slowed down musically but another strong track not straying far from the tried and tested Bodom template. Third single ‘Platitudes and Barren Words’ breathes fresh air into the album, Alexi on vocals and Janne on keyboards in particularly shining on this track.

‘Relapse (The Nature of My Crime)’ and ‘Soon Departed’ toward the end of the album are both strong tracks, the two guitarists Alexi Laiho and Daniel Freyberg working very well together in these, especially so with the latter. The harmonising between guitarists, the catchy riffs and solos all the way through, is all very impressive. Overall it feels like Children of Bodom have their hunger and energy back on this album, it might just satisfy people who missed the old Children of Bodom and will almost certainly satisfy their diehard fans.


Peter Watts


Hexed out on Friday 8th March 2019 via Nuclear Blast



  1. This Road 4:32
  2. Under Grass And Clover 3:33
  3. Glass Houses 3:27
  4. Hecate’s Nightmare 4:09
  5. Kick in a Spleen 3:34
  6. Platitudes And Barren Words 4:13
  7. Hexed 5:03
  8. Relapse (The Nature Of My Crime) 3:26
  9. Say Never Look Back 4:23
  10. Soon Departed 4:54
  11. Knuckleduster 3:27

Line up:

Alexi Laiho – guitar and vocals

Janne Wirman – keyboards

Daniel Freyberg – guitar

Henkka Blacksmith – bass guitar

Jaska Raatikainen – drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: