Cattle Decapitation - Medium Rarities - Album Review
Cattle Decapitation - Medium Rarities - Album Review9
Cattle Decapitation - Medium Rarities - Album Review9
Cattle Decapitation - Medium Rarities - Album Review9
Cattle Decapitation - Medium Rarities - Album Review9
Cattle Decapitation - Medium Rarities - Album Review9
9Overall Score
Reader Rating: (0 Votes)

The Death Grind veterans are back, bringing their Brutal Death Metal to the world in a unique collection. The long term planning and collecting of unreleased tracks, import bonus tracks and 7” releases from the last 10 years is finally compiled and ready to see the light of day. These tracks range from one which was slated for a bonus track for the Japanese release of To Serve Manhowever that didn’t materialise, there are 6 previously unreleased demos that predate Human Jerky, 6 songs from the 2005 split EP with Caninus along with the bonus track from 2002 release To Serve Man.

This collection is as any Cattle Decapitation fan would expect, loud, fast, aggressive and heavy! The album compiles 23 songs, dug from the Metal Blade archives and span 35 minutes, therefore some of the tracks are less than a minute log however that doesn’t mean that the tracks don’t add to the selection.

Opening with ‘Birth. Cancer. Death.’ which clocks in at 19 seconds, any people new to the band will soon know what they have left themselves in for with heavy, down tuned guitars, fast guitars and a brutal vocal. In many ways the shorter tracks are more intense and impactive, with a short sharp shock, however this also doesn’t detract from the quality of the fuller length tracks, where the deep and murky riffs are allowed to grow and the brutality has time to manifest in your ears.

Including the demos, some of which are also on the collection in a release format, the quality and production values are easy to hear and compare but in many ways as the demos sound more raw, it adds a chilling aggression to the overall sound.

‘Rotting Children For Remote Viewing’ is a beast of a track, with guttural vocal, fast drums, slick but sadistic sounding riffs and an overall sound that we know and love from Cattle Decapitation.

This collection of tracks from the bands 22 year span is a brutal and brilliant as anything else that they have released and will be a welcome addition to the Cattle Decapitation catalogue.

Ed Ford

Medium Rarities was released November 23rd on Metal Blade Records.

Trak List

  1. Birth. Cancer. Death.
    02. No Future
    03. Chili Dispenser
    04. The Recapitation Of Cattle

05. Thrombosis All-In
06. Turn On The Masters
07. Tripas De Pepe
08. Vino De Lo Sanguifero
09. Queso De Cabeza
10. Birth. Cancer. Death. (Unreleased Demo)

Cattle Decapitation line-up:
Travis Ryan – vocals
Josh Elmore – guitars
Dave McGraw – drums
Belisario Dimuzio – guitars
Olivier Pinard – bass

Cattle Decapitation online:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: