Castrator // Defiled in Oblivion // Album Review


New York natives Castrator are back after a lengthy seven years with a new slab of old school USDM with the mighty Defiled In Oblivion.

The band’s first EP “No Victim” hit 2015 like a sledgehammer & burst on the scene brandishing their slice of death metal with a difference.

“Defiled in Oblivion” sees the band release their first full length.

10 tracks including a cover of some of the best & freshest death metal right now.

The album opens with a single gunshot & a monumental spoken word sample that creates a great nice thematic entrance before the band blast opens the doors at full force.

Blast beats & tremolo riffing balance nicely together through the track before a chunky chugging breakdown kicks it.

A mix of Suffocation meets Malevolent Creation in a fantastic blending of sounds.

The ferocious “Befoul My Existence” is non-stop.

A lesson in the brutal & unrelenting. The production on the album is top-notch. Handled by the ever fantastic Joe Cincotta of Full Force Studio the band is able to capture their raw sound perfectly with no overproducing. Straight to the point.

“Forsaken and Deprived” is the strongest track on the album.

And trust me the whole album is hitters but this track for me has the most raw & stripped back version of the band’s old school USDM sound. Up there with tracks from the likes of Obituary & Deicide this is where I think Castrator shines brightest.

Not only is the band some of the best musicians in the death metal scene they have added that extra punch by adding in guest solos sprinkled throughout the album by some mighty guitar players.

Daniel Gonzalez (Gruesome & Possessed), Kenny Andrews (Obituary) & Moyses Kolesne (Krisiun) add some amazing lead sections that make the album just that much better. Nothing too flashy but all players add what is needed to make these tracks rippers!

Even on the closing track “Tyrant’s Verdict” is full steam. Adding moments of disanonce to the guitar riff gives this track a Immolation vibe & a surprisingly eerie feel. Finishing the album on another taste of the bands arsenal is great as it keeps the listener engaged & showcasing the bands whole vision.

 “Defiled in Oblivion” is a fantastic debut album & encompasses the true meaning of old school USDM.

Consistent from start to finish, Castrator knows who they are & they are here to kick your ass!

Joseph Mitchell

Defiled in Oblivion Is out via Dark Descent Records on 22th July 2022


1. Dawa of Yousafzai

2. Tormented by Atrocities

3. Befoul My Existence

4. Inquisition Sins

5. Voices of Evirato

6. Forsaken and Deprived

7. Sinister Mind

8. Purge the Rotten (Ones)

9. Tyrant’s Verdict

10. Countess Bathory (Venom cover)

Cover art for Defiled in Oblivion by Jon Zig


Robin Mazen – Bass
Carolina Perez – Drums
Kimberly Orellana – Guitars
Clarissa Badini – Vocals

%d bloggers like this: