Capstan // Separate // Album Review


Following on from their well-received debut album, Restless Heart, Keep Running, Capstan is now back with a brand new full-length album for us to feast on. This brand new album was written throughout the pandemic and draws closely from the band’s own personal feelings and struggles. Separate features the bands own blend of post-hardcore, prog rock and metalcore which gives them their unique sound.

Throughout the album, there is a great mixture of melodic choruses and heavy screaming which lifts each song as you move through them. The first single “Shades of Us” is the perfect example of this as you ease in with the soft melody before the heavy breakdown kicks in. The song is also greatly personal to guitarist Mabry as it was written about his relationship prior to splitting and talks about the realisation that a relationship is not going to work out. The relatability of the track is a trend that continues throughout the rest of the album. While “Shades of Us” might be the flagship track, the beauty of “Sway” is certainly a standout song. Featuring Charlene Joan, there is a beautifully soft melody that takes you on a journey and will have you swaying subconsciously. For something a little different though, “Take My Breath Away // Noose” is everything in a song that you didn’t know that you needed. Brimming with high energy, the song is super catchy and it’s one that will always stand out and make you take notice.

From start to finish, the album is a breath of fresh air as this band continues to grow and put their mark on the world. The range of soft melodies, emotional lyrics and killer breakdowns just proves that Capstan has taken the time to find their own sound and aren’t going anywhere anytime soon.


Review: Emmie Ellis




1. pretext
2. shades of us
3. take my breath away // noose
 4. alone (Featuring Shane Told)
5. blurred around the edges (Featuring Saxl Rose)
6. tongue-biter
7. abandon
8. shattered glass
9. sway  (Featuring Charlene Joan)
10. decline

Capstan // Separate // Album Review