Buggin release debut album Concrete Cowboys on Flatspot Records

Buggin release debut album Concrete Cowboys on Flatspot Records

Photo Credit: Farrah Skeiky

STREAM: Concrete Cowboys
WATCH: “Snack Run”
WATCH: “All Eyes On You”

“It’d be a genuine challenge to find someone who likes present-day hardcore but can’t get down with what Buggin are doing.”Revolver

“Chicago’s Buggin are one of the most in-your-face hardcore bands right now.”Uproxx

“Chicago hardcore band Buggin have a serious knack for infectious grooves and shoutalong refrains, and they do it without ever softening up their sound.”BrooklynVegan

“Buggin play fast and mean, with a whole ton of bounce.”Stereogum

“It’s a high-energy hardcore ripper that strikes a wonderful balance between outright speed and effortless swagger.” Distorted Sound

Today, Chicago hardcore band Buggin have released their debut album, Concrete Cowboys, out now on Flatspot Records. Working with producer Andy Nelson at Bricktop Studios and with mastering by Brad Boatright at AudioSiege, Buggin have created an enthralling 12 songs across the record. The album title comes from a cut on the band’s 2019 demo and that song sees a rework as does “Poser Bulldozer”. Alongside tracks titled “Snack Run” and “The Customer Is Always Wrong,” it’s clear that Buggin aren’t afraid to have a little fun while singing about everyday occurrences.

As the band puts its:

“The album pretty much shows our growth as a band while still sticking true to our roots and why we started everything: having fun with the homies and not taking yourself too seriously. We’re not concerned with following any type of trends, just sticking in our own lane.”

Between these more playful elements are cathartic moments from vocalist Bryanna Bennett. “Hard 2 Kill” was written as a self-empowerment anthem, while “Not Yours” delves into the tokenization of women and non-binary folks in the hardcore scene. Closer “Youth” finds Bennett’s snarling vocals aided by bassist Dewey Hendrik’s more surf-punk vocal approach, creating a soundtrack for the younger generation.

Concrete Cowboys can be streamed everywhere now and can be purchased on Bandcamp and on vinyl through Flatspot Records.

Buggin will head to Europe this summer for a run of headlining shows and festival plays alongside Spaced. The band also has set performances at Detroit’s Tied Down Fest on June 4th and will join up with Zulu, End It, Soul Glo, Kharma, Burn, Truth Cult and more for The Tribes Of Da Moon this August in NYC. Full dates below.

Buggin is Bryanna Bennett (vocals), Dewey Hendrik (bass), Peyton Roberts (guitar), and Michael Rasmussen (drums).

Conrete Cowboys Tracklist:

1. Bug Slam

2. All Eyes On You

3. Get It Out

4. Snack Run

5. The Customer Is Always Wrong

6. Poser Bulldozer

7. Hard 2 Kill

8. Not Yours

9. Concrete Cowboys

10. Redacted

11. Kick Rocks

12. Youth

Tour Dates:

6.4 – Detroit, MI @ Tied Down Fest

25.6 – Manchester, UK  @ Outbreak

w/ Spaced

26.6 – Newcastle, UK @ Head of Steam

27.6 – Newport, UK @ The Cab

28.6 – London, UK @ New Cross Inn

29.6 – Brighton, UK @ The Prince Albert

30.6 – Antwerp, BE @ AMC

01.7 – Rennes, FR @ Superbowl of Hardcore

02.7 – Paris, FR @ Esspace

03.7 – Frankfurt, DE @ Exzess

04.7 – Eindhoven, NL @ Dynamo

05.7 – Hannover, DE @ Bei Chez Heinz

06.7 – Berlin, DE @ Cassiopeia

07.7 – Velke Mezirici, CZ @ Fajt Fest

08.7 – Halle, DE @ Halt Mich Fest

09.7 – Ieper, BE @ Ieper Fest

8.19-8.20 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom @ The Tribes Of Da Moon w/ Zulu, End It, Soul Glo, Kharma + more