Budderside // Spiritual Violence // Album Review


Signed to the late Lemmy Kilmister’s own record label by the man himself, Budderside release their new album ‘Spiritual Violence’ on Motorhead Music on 26th March.

With a refreshing twist to rock ‘n’ roll, this five-piece outfit are back with this second album after finding success supporting legendary rock giants such as Motorhead, Slayer and Anthrax on tour, and appearing at the infamous Wacken Open Air Festival. And vocalist Patrick Alan Stone is no stranger to life on tour, with his last employer being the aforementioned Lemmy working as a roadie.

This 10-track powerhouse of rock jumps straight into the deep end with the song ‘Wide Awake’.  Get ready for full-on driving drumbeats laced with fist-pumping riffs and harmonic vocals to shake your mane to – this is a top track to start the album, setting expectations pretty damn high.

Taking the tempo down a notch, ‘Zen’ is the next track on the list which has already been released as their debut single in December 2020 providing the listener with a further insight into the bands unique yet contemporary sound.  There’s still plenty of tasty power chords to get your teeth into and Stone’s vocals add a touch of eighties glam rock to the mix.

There’s a handful of guest appearances on the album too, such as Carla Harvey from the Butcher Babies who joins Stone in ‘Amber Alert’ to create a fusion of charismatic vocals that oscillate over the thunderous drums.  Motorhead’s guitarist Phil Campbell appears in ‘Pardon Me’ – a stomping track that was enthused by the life of Mr Kilmister and the authentic and valiant character that he once was.

By the fifth track of the album, Budderside sound much akin to 90’s rockers Stone Temple Pilots with a more alternative rock vibe.  That is until ‘Folsom Prison Blu’, where Stone’s vocals take another turn in what starts as archetypal blues that race into a ‘clickity-clack rockabilly tune with a hint of rock bequeathed by the guitar solo.

As the album progresses, their sound becomes more varied – experimental vocals, fraternizing drumbeats, a choir debut and something you wouldn’t expect to hear – ‘scratching’, which features in the last song on the album called ‘Day Go Bah’.  Yet those power chords still form the basis of the majority of tracks.  Funnily enough, even Apple Music have identified the band with an ‘Unknown Genre’ and you do in fact start to question yourself as to what genre Budderside fits into as the album goes on. This can be from one track to the next or within just one of the tracks.

Take ‘Soul-Searchers’ for example, which is one of the more diversified tracks on the album.  Stone’s vocals are put to the test and range from softly-spoken lyrics to psychedelic multitracked harmonies – it almost sounds like Phil Collins has joined in somewhere along the line.  And that’s not in any way negative.

To draw to a conclusion, this album is definitely one that stands out from the crowd.  The diversity within it makes you wonder what the next track is going to bring and that only makes you crave for more.  There is no doubt why Lemmy didn’t hesitate in signing Budderside to his label – the more you listen to it, the more you notice and that is a positive thing. But that also exhibits how dexterous these musicians are – they’re masters of their trade. Stone’s heterogeneous vocals manifest within every track and the band have followed suit.

As for slotting the band into a genre – who gives a toss??!  It’s good to be different. And you can be as sure as hell Lemmy wouldn’t have given a toss (or even a fuck) either!!



Emma Painter


1. Wide Awake
2. Zen
3. Amber Alert (feat. Carla Harvey)
4. Pardon Me (feat. Phil Campbell)
5. I’m A Man
6. Folsom Prison Blues (Johnny Cash cover)
7. Things We Do (feat. Musyca)
8. Feels So Good
9. Soul Searches
10. Daygobah

(Lineup (l-r): Logan Nikolic, Jeff Dewbray {top}, Gabe Maska, Patrick Stone {top}, Sam “Bam” Koltun; Photo Credit: Mathias Fau)


Budderside // Spiritual Violence // Album Review
%d bloggers like this: