Boston Manor // Movements // Jools // O2 Academy // Birmingham // Live Review

As storm Dudley hit the UK and started to blow a ferocious gale across the country, I was on a train, heading to my first show of the year. Blackpool’s Alt-Punk quintet Boston Manor was finally getting to play Birmingham, with support from Movements and Jools. After the tour was rescheduled 5 times, I was ecstatic to finally be seeing such a strong line-up live. It wasn’t just me who was excited either though, as the crowd slowly built before the lights dimmed and the opening act hit the stage.

First up were Jools, an Art-Punk 6-piece that blended atmospheric instrumentals with crushing riffs, moments of quiet sincerity evolved into outbursts of emotion within mere seconds with before returning back to the soundscapes so masterfully crafted. While it took a moment for the crowd to warm up, once they did, there was non-stop dancing, cheers and love in the air. A great opening act and definitely a band to watch out for.

Up next were US-based Movements. Hitting the stage with an intense mix of Pop-Punk and Post-Hardcore fans quickly began to scream along with the band as the raw lyrics filled the air around us.  Starting the set with Skin to Skin, fans were treated to essentially a best-of setlist that seemed to have at least the vast majority of the audience more than satisfied. With an insanely tight performance and some damn catchy songwriting I can completely understand the hype in the crowd for the entire duration of their set, my personal highlights were the Emo-Pop Punk banger Full Circle and their closing track Daylily.

During the changeover, the lights were killed. I headed back into the photo pit to a bass-filled EDM beat and intense strobe lighting before the headline act rushed the stage. Boston Manor pulled no punches as they set an onslaught of punk riffs upon listeners with the likes of Everything is Ordinary, Flowers in Your Dustbin and the recently released Desperate Pleasures. It only took a few brief moments before the crowd surfers started and the pit opened up, but my favourite moment was definitely vocalist Henry Cox addressing the crowd, talking about how he’s grateful to have a fanbase he can open up around before On a High Ledge started, a song tackling the true impact of toxic masculinity on the mental health of boys. The song is incredibly experimental and hearing it live was one hell of an experience.

As the show reached the end, a feeling of excitement rushed over me. Not only had I just seen three bands put on phenomenal sets, but it felt like we were finally seeing a return to Pre-Covid times. A genuinely excellent show, all the bands involved put every ounce of their heart and soul into the night.

 

Photography & Review:  Daniel Stapleton – Pulse Media Visuals 

 

​​BOSTON MANOR 2022 NORTH AMERICAN HEADLINE TOUR:
Support from Trash Boat, Higher Power & Special guests // Tickets on sale now

Mon 04 Apr  Toronto The Velvet Underground
Wed 06 Apr  Boston Crystal Ballroom
Thu 07 Apr   Boston Crystal Ballroom
Fri 08 Apr     New York Gramercy Theater
Sat 09 Apr    Philadelphia Foundry
Sun 10 Apr   Baltimore Ottobar
Tue 12 Apr   North Carolina Blind Tiger
Wed 13 Apr Orlando Abbey
Thu 14 Apr  Tampa Orpheum
Fri 15 Apr    Atlanta Masquerade
Sat 16 Apr   Nashville Mercy Lounge
Mon 18 Apr Dallas Dada
Tue 19 Apr   Houston Warehouse Live
Wed 20 Apr Austin Come and Take It Live!
Fri 22 Apr     Arizona Rebel
Sat 23 Apr   Los Angeles Lodge
Sun 24 Apr  Orange County Chain Reaction
Tue 26 Apr  Berkley Cornerstone
Thu 28 Apr  Seattle El Corazon
Fri 29 Apr    Vancouver Hollywood Theater
Sat 30 Apr  Portland Hawthorne
Mon 02 May  Salt Lake City Loading Dock
Tue 03 May    Denver Marquis
Wed 04 May  Lawrence The Bottleneck
Fri 06 May      Chicago Bottom Lounge
Sat 07 May     Detroit Magic Stick
Sun 08 May    Cleveland Beachland
Mon 09 May  Pittsburgh Thunderbird

CONNECT WITH BOSTON MANOR:
Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Twitch

MOVEMENTS ONLINE:
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Website
Spotify
FEARLESS RECORDS ONLINE:
Facebook
Twitter
Website
Instagram
YouTube
Spotify
%d bloggers like this: