Blackberry Smoke // You Hear Georgia // Album Review


The Atlanta boys are back with their latest offering You Hear Georgia, a ten-track foot-stomper that is a joy to behold. That Southern swagger is in abundance as the tracks ebb and flow, kicking off with ‘Live It Down’, a gritty track that grabs your attention and announces the arrival of this stellar recording with all the charm you expect from Blackberry Smoke. 

The album’s title track is up next and pulls you in once again with its melancholic vibe and melodic backbone, whilst ‘Hey Delilah’ is an uptempo, feel-good track that will have you warbling along in no time. A charming little ditty that will no doubt be a fan favorite being thrown back at them in waves when the live scene takes off once again. The album takes you on a journey through the best of what Blackberry Smoke is all about, fluid emotive songwriting and effortless storytelling that few bands can translate as well. You get the whole nine yards here, a window into the decades worth of experience that BBS have behind them and the various styles and influences they so effortlessly lay before us, from Country to Blues-infused Southern Rock You Hear Georgia has it all. Tracks like ‘Lonesome For A Livin’ show you the edge-to-edge capabilities that these guys have, feat. Jamey Johnson, you have a tune soaked in its Country Roots, whereas ‘All Rise’ ft Warren Haynes is the polar opposite with its bitchin’ guitar riff dripping in attitude and its majestic harmonizing guitar work. No sooner are you lifted up, they bring you back down with a melodic acoustic number ensuring they have your full attention, no taking your eye off the ball here. 

Another quality recording dripping in first-class storytelling strengthens Blackberry Smoke’s position as one of the great Southern-Rock bands of their generation. 


You Hear Georgia is released Friday, May 28th via 3 Legged Records/Thirty Tigers



1. Live It Down 

2. You Hear Georgia 

3. Hey Delilah 

4. Ain’t The Same

5. Lonesome For A Livin’ (feat. Jamey Johnson)

6. All Rise Again (feat. Warren Haynes)

7. Old Enough To Know

8. Morningside

9. All Over The Road 

10. Old Scarecrow


The Atlanta-based band has also revealed the video for the album’s title track, which you can watch at You can also pre-order the album at, with bundles and limited edition vinyl available at




Blackberry Smoke // You Hear Georgia // Album Review
%d bloggers like this: