BIG CITY : ‘Testify X’ – Norwegian melodic metal act sign to Frontiers for their third album out 16.07.21


new album
out 16.07.21

pre-order link

includes the single

Norwegian melodic metal act Big City have signed a multi-album deal with Frontiers Music Srl. Fans of bands such as Firewind, Queensrÿche, Magnus Karlsson’s Free Fall, Europe and Fair Warning will await the upcoming new album by this exciting group with interest. ‘Testify X’ will be released on 16th July 2021.

The record’s first single is ‘Testify’, a song that guitarist Daniel Olaisen says “is about confessing to things to get weight off your conscience in order to have a better life…or keep them a secret and live a lie. This is the very first song written for the album and it has it all. Melodic and acoustic intro, a real catchy hook line on the guitar, great vocal lines and a modulation at the end!” He adds that the band members have different influences, “from jazz/fusion to extreme metal. However, the foundation is our passion for melodic and nostalgic 80’s metal/hard rock!”

Big City was originally put together by Olaisen to utilise a vast quantity of song ideas that he had stockpiled. Frank Ørland, who he had also played with in Scariot (a heavy prog/thrash fusion featuring Communic and Spiral Architect members), was an obvious choice as second guitarist. Drummer Frank Nordeng Røe (Withem, Maraton, session drummer for Circus Maximus and Leprous), vocalist Jan Le Brandt and session bassist Geir Inge Olsen were all subsequently recruited.

A debut album entitled ‘Wintersleep’ was initially released in 2014 and reissued four years later via the Rock of Angels label as part of a deluxe edition of follow-up effort ‘Big City Life’. Big City also played their first ever live shows in 2018 with Miguel Pereira (Withem) joining as their new permanent bass player.

2019 saw Big City begin work on a new album and bring in new singer Jørgen Bergersen (from Rock the Night, a Europe covers group). The demos caught the interest of Frontiers, who moved swiftly to sign the band. “’Testify X’ introduces our new singer, who has done an incredible job. There is more punch and heaviness in his voice. The songs are still varied, from super chill ballad to heavy and light-progressive tunes. Melodies are still in focus and there’s plenty of that, as expected. It’s simply the best Big City album so far!” concludes Olaisen.

1  The Rush
2  Dark Rider
3  Testify
4  I Will Fall
5  Running Away
6  Conception
7  Winds Of The Road
8  Heart’s Like A Lion
9  Graveyard Love
10  How Dark Does It Get

Daniel Olaisen – rhythm, lead & acoustic guitars
Frank Ørland – lead, rhythm & acoustic guitars
Frank Nordeng Røe – drums and percussion
Jørgen Bergersen – vocals
Miguel Pereira – bass guitar

Originally founded in Naples, Italy in 1996 by Serafino Perugino and his father Fernando as a distribution company, Frontiers has developed into one of the premiere independent rock labels in the world. Synonymous with quality music across a broad spectrum of rock and metal genres, the company works with multiple genre heavyweights and fan favourites. However, in addition to providing an outlet for classic and established acts, it has also become home to a wealth of young, up and coming talent whose musical prowess, when combined with the label’s savvy and forward thinking A&R and marketing approach, will be developed into the future of rock and metal. With a deep commitment to and passion for THE MUSIC and the artists who create it, plus massive global distribution, sales, marketing and promotion channels, Frontiers is the leading home for both established and emerging rock and metal artists.
Head Office: Naples, IT | U.S. Office: Nashville, TN
Subscribe to be alerted when new videos are added:
Follow the ‘Newest From Frontiers’ playlist on Spotify:

%d bloggers like this: