Beth Hart // A Tribute To Led Zeppelin // Album Review


The Grammy-nominated powerhouse vocalist Beth Hart takes on one of her most profound undertakings to date by channelling the legendary voice of Robert Plant on A Tribute To Led Zeppelin. When I read that line on the press release I was in two minds, “the girl has lost her mind “ and “well if anyone can, she can” I was right with the latter. 

What you get here are 9 stellar takes on magical Zeppelin tracks that Hart just takes to another level. By that I mean she totally makes them her own by channelling the magic of Robert Plant and pushing al her energy and fierce vocals to the fore. Hart’s vocals are instantly recognisable and they cut through the mix like a knife, you can feel the air move with the power and control she exerts. 

How she does I can’t quite imagine but she admitted herself that in order to tackle such a project she would need to revisit some old demons, Beth said, “I’m not doing this whole album. To do Zeppelin, you’ve got to be pissed off to hit that right. I can’t go there; I’ve worked years to put my rage away.”

She continues, “then the pandemic and all the things around it hit. So now I’m pissed off. I called my manager and said, have Rob and Doug send me all the music because I am ready to do this.”

The nine-track album highlights the incredible musical spectrum that Led Zeppelin operated in. At the helm was super-producer Rob Cavallo (Green Day, Linkin Park, My Chemical Romance) and engineer Doug McKean (Goo Goo Dolls, Adam Lambert). The A-list musicians include Cavallo on guitar along with Tim Pierce (Bruce Springsteen, Tina Turner); on bass was Chris Chaney (Rob Zombie, Slash);on keyboards was Jamie Muhoberac (Bob Dylan, Rolling Stones); on drums was Dorian Crozier (Celine Dion, Miley Cyrus, Joe Cocker), and Matt Laug played drums on Stairway To Heaven (Alanis Morissette, Alice Cooper). Orchestral arrangements were by David Campbell (Muse, Beyoncé). All that was left was the final piece of the puzzle… the voice.

No unlike Hart’s label mates Hollis Brown who recently tackled The Rollings Stones classic album ‘In the Aftermath’ Hart has taken a ballsy step into the unknown, a brave step indeed but as I have touched on previously, if ever anyone could pull it off it is Beth Hart. 

On a final thought, Beth pauses and reflects to say, “this Zeppelin album allowed me to get all my rage out, and for that, I’m really grateful.”

I tip my hat to thee. 

Beth Hart
New Album: A Tribute To Led Zeppelin

Released: 25 February 2022
Via: Provogue /Mascot Label Group



1. Whole Lotta Love

2. Kashmir

3. Stairway To Heaven

4. The Crunge

5. Dancing Days/When The Levee Breaks (Medley)

6. Black Dog

7. No Quarter / Babe I’m Gonna Leave You (Medley)

8. Good Times Bad Times

9. The Rain Song

The album will be released on February 25 via Provogue/Mascot Label Group and will be available digitally, CD, and LP (Black vinyl, Orange transparent vinyl, and Splatter red gold vinyl).



Beth Hart // A Tribute To Led Zeppelin // Album Review
%d bloggers like this: