Azarath // Saint Desecration // Album Review

Formed in 1998 by Behemoth drummer Inferno, Bart from Armageddon and Damnation, Necrosodom of Deus Mortem, and Peter ex-Lost Souls, it will be no surprise to those who are not familiar with Azarath that the band has been creating some of the best extreme music and now, with new vocalist Skullripper from Embryonal, the band are ready to unleash their next demonic offering on the world.

The 40-minute record opens to the sound of punishing drums and a stunningly abusive vocal as the bass and guitars join the cacophony of noise to create an intense amount of music that is nothing short of stunning and don’t think that they are peaking too soon.

As the album progresses the guitars scream in ways that only the most sadistic players can manage and the bass also joins in with its deep tone that most people would only frown at, the combination of musicians really is incredible and with everyone on their best form, the outcome is incredible.

There is no denying that the album is one of the most extreme examples of Blackened Death Metal however it is also one of the best examples around, as the riffs continue to tear at your flesh and the drums test the density of your bones with the vibrations causing cracks in any weakened sections whilst the bass will shake your organs and the vocal just drools bile down your ears and rots you from the inside out until your brain becomes putrefied.

The 10 tracks will punish you in ways that many will be unprepared for, however for those who experience this extreme music for the first time, your life will be changed forever and for fans of Blackened Death Metal, this will push your boundaries further as they provide something crisp and Black that will possess even the most veteran fan of the genre.

Saint Desecration is one of the best and most rewarding albums that you will hear this year and at a time when people are struggling to find a way to cope with this most testing of times, Azarath have provided an album that will take over your entire being and will begin to turn your blood black and rot your soul in ways like no other. Any fan of extreme metal needs to hear this, an album that will be in many people’s best of 2020 lists, including mine.

Ed Ford


Saint Desecration will be released Friday 27th November 2020 via Agonia Records.


1. Death-at-Will
2. Sancta Dei Meretrix
3. Let them Burn…
4. Fall of the Blessed
5. No Salvation
6. Profanation
7. Reigning over the Death
8. Life is Death, Death is Life
9. Inflicting Blasphemy upon the Heavens
10. Beyond the Gates of Burning Ghats
11. Pure Hate*

Pre-order the album at:

Follow Azarath:

Agonia Records:


%d bloggers like this: