Avantasia // A Paranormal Evening with the Moonflower Society // Album Review


Having initially been planned as a two-album project, Avantasia has released far more than that, in fact, this will be the 9th.

The concept of Avantasia was created by Tobias Sammet, the vocalist of Edguy in 1999 and the German supergroup immediately began their Rock Opera journey.

Having previously had massive guest musicians and vocalists, such as Alice Cooper, Dee Snider and Tim “Ripper” Owens to name just a few, there is no denying the fact this band are as exciting as the music.

If you’re not sure what Rock Opera is, this is the most expansive fantastical Symphonic Power Metal that you will ever hear. This is the kind of music that makes you see colours and not just hear musical notes.

If you think that maybe I’m being a little over the top, press play and you will see exactly what I mean. As the sound begins, the slower narrative is joined by the keys and then we have the first massive sing-along. This is the first of many times that your lungs will be tested and the neighbours will hear you trying to match the soaring vocals.

As the effects start to take on this fantastic journey, you will not want to stop this trip.

As the album progresses, you will soon find yourself singing along and having a really good time joining in with this incredible band. As the colours fly passed your head as the instruments are put to work, you will wonder why not all music can have such an all-around uplifting effect. No matter if it is a face melter or a more sedate number, the quality and result remain, utter brilliance.

I cannot praise this album enough, from start to finish it is just incredible. It has been a long time since I have enjoyed a full album as much as I have A Paranormal Evening with the Moonflower Society. Granted, a lot of music I tend to listen to is the heavier side of things, but everyone needs some relief every now and then and that is exactly what this is. In fact, it’s far more than relief, it’s a brilliant cleanse of the palette and a real mind-opening moment.

No matter what music you are into, please just give this a go. Your life will be changed and everything will suddenly seem so colourful.

A Paranormal Evening with the Moonflower Society will be released Friday 21st October 2022 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Ed Ford




  1. Welcome to the Shadows 5:04
  2. The Wicked Rule the Night 4:24
  3. Kill the Pain Away 3:43
  4. The Inmost Light 3:26
  5. Misplaced among the Angels 5:16
  6. I Tame the Storm 3:52
  7. Paper Plane 3:53
  8. The Moonflower Society 5:13
  9. Rhyme and Reason 4:41
  10. Scars 4:12
  11. Arabesque 10:09






%d bloggers like this: