Alter Bridge // Walk The Sky 2.0 // EP Review

Alter Bridge are back in 2020 with an extension to their 2019 full-length release Walk The Sky, what we get is a seven-track beauty in v.2.0 with a new original track ‘Last Rite’ written during the Covid-19 pandemic/lockdown and a taste of new blood from the guys. The track is an absolute banger, dripping in signature AB goodness, thunderous chugging guitars that symbolize everything that Mark Tremonti is known for, those hefty thrashes that you can feel in your very soul, fused with Kennedy’s instantly recognizable and as always sublime vocals, you have that winning AB formula that just envelopes you like a warm blanket on a cold winters night. 

The rest of the EP is made up of live tracks taken from the studio album, here is where the quality within AB comes to life, the live stage and their gargantuan presence translated through that all-encompassing energy. Goddam welcome to the 20th century and the digital age, the sound/recording quality is breathtaking, long gone are the live recordings of the ’80s that soundalike you recorded the whole underwater! The definition is unreal, you get the full impact of each band member’s contribution in your face and when Kennedy’s vocals breakthrough you just know you’re not in Kansas anymore! Kennedy’s vocal range is something to behold, especially as he is able to so easily carry that to the live stage with ease, of course, you would expect nothing less but you always find yourself holding your breath in expectation that some day he may actually just be human. 

If you have ever had the pleasure capturing Alter Bridge live, or Tremonti himself or Myles on his solo tour you know the level of musicianship is something special, the energy and brawn put into every performance is second to none. You leave that gig breathless and quite often a few pounds lighter in sweat, you get every nuance of that through your speakers here with 2.0. You can almost feel that air being pushed through the room by the sizeable cabs behind the guys on stage, Tremonti’s monstrous sound being hammered out of that PRS and the hefty backline pummel you with each and every thrash of their instruments. Alter Bridge bring that unique ability to mesh the brutality of their sound whilst wrapping it all up in a melodic and easy on the ear package, one of Mark Tremonti’s finest attributes as an artist, which has seen him successfully ride that wave ever since he hit the scene with Creed way back when. 

It may be a teaser for us in 2020, but given the chaos that surrounds us, it is a badly needed distraction and greatly appreciated by Alter Bridge fans and fresh-faced newbies alike. If you have yet to dip your toe into the pool that is Alter Bridge, Walk The Sky 2.0 would go along way to explain the euphoria that surrounds this incredible band. 

Walk The Sky 2.0 is out Nov 6th via Napalm Records.


The new Walk The Sky 2.0 EP is available for pre-order in various bundle configurations and set for release on November 6th. These include a Jewelcase CD (available worldwide), Jewelcase CD + t-shirt (Napalm Records exclusive worldwide except North America), cream colored Vinyl Gatefold LP (available worldwide), and a limited edition Inkspot Yellow/Black Marbled Vinyl Gatefold LP (Napalm Records Mailorder only). The album will also be available in a digital bundle with the original Walk The Sky and Walk The Sky 2.0 EP together as well as a limited edition 2-CD Earbook with both versions included (Napalm Records Mailorder only). All versions of Walk The Sky 2.0 can be ordered here:



1)      Last Rites
2)      Wouldn’t You Rather (Live)
3)      Pay No Mind (Live)
4)      Native Son (Live)
5)      Godspeed (Live)
6)      In The Deep (Live)
7)      Dying Light (Live)
For more info visit:

%d bloggers like this: