Alt/Indie band Family Dinner get reflective on new single “Shine On”

Family Dinner get reflective on new single “Shine On”

Debut album God Looks Out For Fools out 8/16 on Other People Records

Photo Credit: Steve Levy

Today, Long Island indie meets alternative rock band Family Dinner share their reflective new song “Shine On“. The track serves as the fourth single from the band’s upcoming debut album, God Looks Out For Fools, set for release August 16th on Other People Records (Modern Color, Soft Blue Shimmer). “Shine On” deals with the grief process and celebration of life, rolling from a soft, sultry track to a guitar centric rocker. It perfectly displays Family Dinner’s dynamics of be being able to capture emotion, and also make you want to dance. You can listen to “Shine On” HERE.

Diving further into the story behind the song, vocalist Natalie O’Keeffe shares:

“I wrote Shine On for a friend whom we lost very suddenly and way too young. We had a little unofficial celebration of life type gathering (at least that’s how I remember the party) a few days after he passed away. At some point I wandered down to the beach by myself and a lot of the lines from the song came to me while I cried and walked up and down the shore. To put it super concisely, this song was inspired by equal parts grief and mushrooms.”

The twelve tracks on God Looks Out For Fools cover a range of emotions – channeling sounds from punchy to somber, lyrics on love, loss, death, empowerment, and mischief. The album was recorded over a year at Barbershop Studios in NJ with Brett Romnes and Vinnie Caruana (I Am The Avalanche) at the producer helm. As Family Dinner continues to grow, having fun remains of key importance in the way the band creates and performs. Since forming in 2017, the band has been able to share the stage with acts including The Lemonheads, Grouplove, Bloc Party, Frank Carter and the Rattlesnakes, Fiddlehead, Oso Oso and more. With a new record on the way, Family Dinner are on the cusp of being a must know act in the world of alternative rock and beyond.

God Looks Out For Fools is available for preorder now through Other People Records.

Family Dinner is Natalie O’Keeffe – Vocals, Michael O’Keeffe – Guitar/Vocals, Nick Amalfitano – Drums/Guitar/Vocals, Sam Weiss – Bass.

Album Artwork

God Looks Out For Fools Tracklist:

1. Horny Beach Trash

2. Revenge Dress

3. Shache

4. Stubborn Hearts Club

5. Shine On

6. God Looks Out For Fools

7. Parasite

8. M.P.D.G.

9. Morning Haze

10. Dark Waves

11. Helianthus

12. Early Sunsets Over Harbor Isle

Upcoming Shows:

July 20th – Amityville, NY – AMH w/ Drug Church

Sept 6th – Brooklyn, NY – Union Pool w/ Latewaves & Somerset Thrower